NEW! Corel PaintShop Pro 2018

Problem with PE 8.6 Windows XP

Problem with PE 8.6 Windows XP

Postby tames » Sat Dec 13, 2008 3:45 pm

I loaded 8.6 on my XP machine and it is taking a long time for the program to show my C: drive. At first this was happening with the splash screen when I first opened the program. I found a post here to put a \n as an argument in the icon. That took care of the long wait at that point. Now the wait has shifted to when I try to open my file system C:\

It also is taking an hefty amount of CPU percentage until it finally shows me the folder structure.

This program worked perfectly on Win2000. I have also purchased and installed the new PI - X3

I am on XP service pack 3.

Also, why does the new Corel site only list PE 8.5? I purchased 8.6 a while back on the old Ulead.
tames
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:34 am

Postby Ron P. » Sat Dec 13, 2008 5:41 pm

Welcome to the forums,

This could be due to your system, (we know nothing about your system), or some settings in the Preferences dialog.

In the Preferences dialog, check to see if the No Cache size limit is checked. If so uncheck it and determine a size limit, or opt to not use a cache. Try changing the location of your cache folder. Try clearing the History.

I have PE 8.6 installed on my XP Home Edition (SP3) and do not experience this problem. To my knowledge PE 8.6 was only included as part of PI 11 and/or PI 12. It was never sold as a separate program.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12195
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
Location: Kansas, USA
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter

Postby tames » Mon Jan 05, 2009 1:41 am

Thanks. It is a recent windows install. I tried the settings you recommended and cleared cache and history. Tried removing and reinstalling. Still same issue. I guess I will have to go down to 8.5 which will cost me.
tames
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:34 am

Postby tames » Mon Jan 05, 2009 2:04 am

Well just purchased 8.5 and still the same thing. Too bad. I really liked using it on Win 2000.
tames
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:34 am


Return to Photo Explorer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests