NEW! Corel PaintShop Pro 2018

New to the program

Corel Paint Shop Pro

Moderator: trueblue

New to the program

Postby gsakatch » Sat Nov 18, 2017 3:12 am

Hi all. I am brand new to PSP, but not new to many of the concepts. I've been a television editor for over 25 years, and basically honed my skills in photoshop.
I'm now trying to switch to PSP, but am having difficulty equating some of my workflows.

Let me start by saying I'm not looking to do touch ups or anything like that. I used photoshop, and hope to use PSP for logo manipulation and prep for use in my video editing world.
One of my first questions relates to importing an image.

I'm used to a workflow where I create a blank document, in a video size, say 1920x1080, and then (in photoshop) I would "place" the clients version of their logo into this frame size, which automatically creates a new layer, and a bounding box that can be resized if necessary.

In PSP, all I've been able to figure out is that I have to open the clients file as a separate document, select all, copy go to my new document, and paste to import an image.

Is this the only way to do it? Import seems to only be for connecting to a scanner, and I don't see anything that looks like "place" in any of the tabs.

I know i'll have many more questions to get the basic workflow I need down, but this seems like a good starting place.

Thanks
Glenn
gsakatch

operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: psp

Re: New to the program

Postby flagpole » Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:45 pm

Hi
Paste as new layer maybe?

To be honest this is not a typical work flow. Normally you would create an image, and create a new layer, then paste in the selection.
flagpole

operating_system: Windows 10
motherboard: dell inspiron 546
processor: Athlon X4 640
ram: 8GB
Video Card: GTX 1050 Ti
sound_card: on board
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2.6TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell 22" 1080p

Postby Forriner » Sat Nov 18, 2017 5:13 pm