NEW! Corel PaintShop Pro 2018

Installing PSP X9 64-bit over 32-bit

Corel Paint Shop Pro

Moderator: trueblue

Installing PSP X9 64-bit over 32-bit

Postby Jan Shim » Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:04 am

I've been using PSP X9 32-bit all this time with Topaz and NIK plug-ins. What happens if I install X9 64-bit over the current installation? Will the 64-bit installer inherit ALL existing settings and run in a transparent manner? Only reasons I've been reluctant to use 64-bit are a few old plug-in that were never ported to 64-bit.
Jan Shim
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 3:13 am
Location: Brunei Darussalam
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS ROG Maximus V GENE
processor: Core i7-3770K 4.4GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: nVidia GeForce 2GB GTX 660
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell UltraSharp U2713H

Re: Installing PSP X9 64-bit over 32-bit

Postby rondo » Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:38 am

Not sure, but I installed both 32 & 64 bit at the same time- they coexist fine and share settings. As you know your 32 bit plugins will not work on 64 bit program- Topaz and Nik have both 32 & 64 bit plugins in their folders, so as long as PSP File Locations are set properly for the plugins folder location in PSP 64 bit then all should be well.
rondo
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 9:51 pm
operating_system: Vista Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte
processor: Intel Quad Core Q9550
ram: 8GB
Video Card: Nvidia 660
sound_card: creative x-fi
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus ProArt

Re: Installing PSP X9 64-bit over 32-bit

Postby Jan Shim » Fri Nov 17, 2017 7:26 am

I've read this http://help.corel.com/paintshop-pro/v19 ... grams.html

"The Corel PaintShop Pro installer installs the 32-bit or 64-bit version of the application by detecting and matching the version to your operating system. For 64-bit systems, after the initial installation, you can choose to add the 32-bit version. This will let you use any 32-bit plug-ins or other 32-bit compatible software with the 32-bit version of Corel PaintShop Pro, but still work with the 64-bit version of the application to take advantage of 6 or more GB RAM and other 64-bit optimized features."

Note: If you install 64-bit and 32-bit versions, the programs are listed separately and launched separately from the Windows Start menu or Start screen."

Based on the above, I must first decide which set of plug-ins I am going to be using then decide if I should run the 32-bits or 64-bits X9? Is this how it is for you?
Jan Shim
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 3:13 am
Location: Brunei Darussalam
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS ROG Maximus V GENE
processor: Core i7-3770K 4.4GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: nVidia GeForce 2GB GTX 660
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell UltraSharp U2713H

Re: Installing PSP X9 64-bit over 32-bit

Postby rondo » Fri Nov 17, 2017 4:31 pm

I seldom use some of my older 32bit plugins, and the improved speed and performance of the 64 bit PSP has me using it all of the time- it really is worthwhile.
rondo
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 9:51 pm
operating_system: Vista Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte
processor: Intel Quad Core Q9550
ram: 8GB
Video Card: Nvidia 660
sound_card: creative x-fi
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus ProArt

Re: Installing PSP X9 64-bit over 32-bit

Postby Ken Berry » Fri Nov 17, 2017 7:13 pm

The point is that the recommended option, which is presented when you start the PSP installer, is to install BOTH the 32 and 64 bit versions on the same computer (assuming your computer is 64 bit). You will then have two desktop icons to choose between to open either the 32 bit or 64 bit version. If you have 32 bit plug-ins installed, then obviously you will open the 32 bit version. Or if the plug-ins are 64 bit then you would open the 64 bit version of PSP. Both versions are independent of each other, though you can only open one version at a time.
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19600
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2B0F
processor: Core i3-4130T 2.9 GHz
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: NVidia GeForce 710A
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: AOC 28" 1920 x 1080
Corel programs: VS X10; PSP 2018; MS3D; ASP 3

Re: Installing PSP X9 64-bit over 32-bit

Postby JoeB » Fri Nov 17, 2017 7:49 pm

I don't think anybody has answered the original question - i.e., will installing the 64bit version automatically import all of the settings that are present in the existing 32bit installation. :-) I'm afraid I don't know the answer to that.
Regards,

JoeB
Using PSP 2018, 32-bit
JoeB
 
Posts: 1449
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:04 pm
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: LENOVO 4524PE4 ThinkCentre M91p
processor: 3.10 gigahertz Intel Quad Core i5-2400
ram: 8 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4.6 TB
Corel programs: PSP 9, X7 to 2018, 32 & 64-bit

Re: Installing PSP X9 64-bit over 32-bit

Postby brucet » Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:41 pm

FWIW I installed PSPx8 on my computer. In doing so I selected the option to install both 32 and 64bit versions. I have never opened the 32bit version. Until now. I clicked on the desktop icon and 32 bit version opened. It opened with my custom screen. Looking further under File/Workspace my custom save custom options where all there.

So I would imagine that it works from 32 bit to 64 bit.

regards
brucet
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:37 am
Location: Australia
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8GB

Re: Installing PSP X9 64-bit over 32-bit

Postby Ken Berry » Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:56 pm

I regularly open either the 32 bit or the 64 bit version, and I always find that any changes I make to, say, the workspace or the colour scheme, in one version are automatically applied when I later open the other version.
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19600
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2B0F
processor: Core i3-4130T 2.9 GHz
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: NVidia GeForce 710A
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: AOC 28" 1920 x 1080
Corel programs: VS X10; PSP 2018; MS3D; ASP 3


Return to Paint Shop Pro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests