NEW! Corel PaintShop Pro 2018

PSP X9 not using more than 4Gb of RAM

Corel Paint Shop Pro

Moderator: trueblue

PSP X9 not using more than 4Gb of RAM

Postby logicsequence » Mon Oct 23, 2017 4:30 am

So i recently upgraded to X9 because my old version was 32 bit and i began running into RAM issues. However, after monitoring the X9 (64 bit) process for a while i still seems to be using less than 4Gb of RAM, even on massive multi layer high res files. Is this still a limit with the program? Is there a way to let the process have access to more RAM? I mean have 32Gb for a reason, i wish the program would use more so it wouldn't bog down so much.

Thanks in advance,

Logic
logicsequence
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 4:26 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Ultimate
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: PSP X9 not using more than 4Gb of RAM

Postby rondo » Mon Oct 23, 2017 4:56 pm

I've never checked on my X9 64 bit Ram use. Very interesting finding-
I'd message the PSP team on Facebook and ask them- they do reply- https://www.facebook.com/corelpaintshop/
rondo
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 9:51 pm
operating_system: Vista Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte
processor: Intel Quad Core Q9550
ram: 8GB
Video Card: Nvidia 660
sound_card: creative x-fi
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus ProArt

Re: PSP X9 not using more than 4Gb of RAM

Postby roberts-end » Fri Nov 03, 2017 8:53 am

Using PSP2018. It seems quite economical in memory use, but if I open about 20 large pictures and then create a new picture 10,000x10,000 pixels memory it breaks the 4GB barrier without problems.

Capture1.PNG
Capture1.PNG (8.25 KiB) Viewed 1215 times


PSPx9 is similar. If I make a new image 40,000x20,000 (nearly a gigapixel) and then fill it with a gradient the memory goes up well past 4GB. If I then zoom in, memory usage increases again and then drops down as Windows pages some to disk. Fill the image with a gradient and memory goes up to about 7.5GB and then drops to about 4GB as windows pages some of the memory out to disk. Looks like either Windows or the programmers and doing a good job of memory management. Windows 10 also uses compressed memory management so estimating usage is not a simple task. Either way the program seems to run well if you have a fast disk.

Capture4.PNG


Windows 10 Home/64 bit/8GB memory/i5 with solid state disk. No special setup. Program stays reasonably responsive except when auto saving.
Attachments
Capture3.PNG
roberts-end
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 7:38 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Packard Bell S2885
processor: i5-440 Haswell
ram: 8gb
Video Card: on board Intel HD 4600
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1Tb SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell U2415
Corel programs: PSP 8 -> PSP2018

Re: PSP X9 not using more than 4Gb of RAM

Postby flagpole » Wed Nov 08, 2017 11:53 am

Hmmm
Image3.png
Image3.png (4.2 KiB) Viewed 1113 times
flagpole
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:12 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: dell inspiron 546
processor: Athlon X4 640
ram: 8GB
Video Card: GTX 1050 Ti
sound_card: on board
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2.6TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell 22" 1080p

Re: PSP X9 not using more than 4Gb of RAM

Postby Jean-Luc » Wed Nov 08, 2017 2:34 pm

flagpole wrote:Hmmm
Image3.png

Just curious, two questions :

-Did you have many images open ?

- Do you observe a remaining RAM used when all images are closed ? I observed, after some works with tools (crop, resize, layers, text on image), with no image open I have many RAM still used (should not).
http://www.paintshoppro.fr
Installed PSP Ultimate: X7, X8, X9 and 2018.
Jean-Luc
 
Posts: 675
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 10:50 pm
Location: Belgium (French speaking)
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS Computer N751J
processor: Intel i7-4710 HQ 2.50GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M
Corel programs: PSP X7, X8, X9, 2018

Re: PSP X9 not using more than 4Gb of RAM

Postby flagpole » Wed Nov 08, 2017 2:59 pm

I created a 25,000 X 25,000 pixel image, added two more layers to it...
That still didn't do it, (I was specifically trying to get to a number around 5gb for this thread)
So I tried drawing in to the layers, and that was sufficient.

I did the screen shot, closed the image and the ram went back to normal.
flagpole
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:12 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: dell inspiron 546
processor: Athlon X4 640
ram: 8GB
Video Card: GTX 1050 Ti
sound_card: on board
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2.6TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell 22" 1080p

Re: PSP X9 not using more than 4Gb of RAM

Postby Jean-Luc » Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:34 am

flagpole wrote:I created a 25,000 X 25,000 pixel image, added two more layers to it...
I did the screen shot, closed the image and the ram went back to normal.

Thank you ! ... :)
http://www.paintshoppro.fr
Installed PSP Ultimate: X7, X8, X9 and 2018.
Jean-Luc
 
Posts: 675
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 10:50 pm
Location: Belgium (French speaking)
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS Computer N751J
processor: Intel i7-4710 HQ 2.50GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M
Corel programs: PSP X7, X8, X9, 2018

Re: PSP X9 not using more than 4Gb of RAM

Postby roberts-end » Tue Nov 28, 2017 10:25 pm

flagpole wrote:I created a 25,000 X 25,000 pixel image, added two more layers to it...
That still didn't do it, (I was specifically trying to get to a number around 5gb for this thread)
So I tried drawing in to the layers, and that was sufficient.

I did the screen shot, closed the image and the ram went back to normal.


When you create an image or layer, no matter how big, very little memory is actually written to. Windows just marks it as allocated (but does not actually use any physical memory). Its only when you add content (eg a gradient) that memory gets committed. In Windows 10 memory also gets compressed. Even if you create a gradient, the image is very compressible and the actual RAM used by Windows can be quite small unless its random data. Also, PSP and other programs like Lightroom, often work on scaled down images for the screen preview and only process the full data when you save or make a print. PSP2018 seems to do a very good job. On my machine it remains responsive even after I open 250 images. If you want the gorey details, Sysinternals have some tools that can give more info on how memory is being used but be warned its very technical and you may need to be a computer scientist to understand the results. The bottom line is, if you are using 64 bit versions of Windows and happy with performance, why worry how the memory is being used. If you are unhappy with performance you may be better adding a Solid state disk than expanding memory above 8Gb. I use SSD for my main C: drive and its works a treat on my 4 year old medium spec machine from PCWorld.
roberts-end
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 7:38 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Packard Bell S2885
processor: i5-440 Haswell
ram: 8gb
Video Card: on board Intel HD 4600
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1Tb SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell U2415
Corel programs: PSP 8 -> PSP2018


Return to Paint Shop Pro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests