PSP X5 Runtime Error!

Corel Paint Shop Pro

Moderator: trueblue

PSP X5 Runtime Error!

Postby Tadjio on Wed Mar 06, 2013 1:36 pm

This morning my PSP X5 wouldn't start, giving me a Runtime Error:
Screenshot (8).jpg
Runtime Error


I have tried a system restore and I tried and failed to do a 'Program Repair' but I cannot overcome this error.
Help Please!!! Any suggestions?
Tadjio
PSP X6.2 Ultimate user
AfterShot Pro ASPirant
Windows 8.1 64-bit Pro
Canon EOS 100D, Olympus E-PM1 & iPhone 5
Tadjio
 
Posts: 1102
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 3:23 pm
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 8 Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte
processor: Core i7 2.8GHz 860
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI HD5570
sound_card: Sound
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2.5TB

Re: PSP X5 Runtime Error!

Postby Ken Berry on Wed Mar 06, 2013 7:56 pm

Just a couple of thoughts off the top of my head... Have you thought about reinstalling Visual C++ or updating it (if any update is available)? Have you applied any update to your DirectX? If not, you might want to try doing so from the Microsoft website...
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 16061
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 17FB 10.58
processor: i7 2.2 GHz
ram: 4 GB
Video Card: Radeon HD 7690M XT 1 GB RAM
sound_card: On Board Intel
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 640 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: BENQ G2420 HD 1920x1080 24"

Re: PSP X5 Runtime Error!

Postby Tadjio on Fri Mar 08, 2013 1:44 am

Ken Berry wrote:Just a couple of thoughts off the top of my head... Have you thought about reinstalling Visual C++ or updating it (if any update is available)? Have you applied any update to your DirectX? If not, you might want to try doing so from the Microsoft website...

Thanks, Ken. I saw that I have Visual C++ 2005, 2006, 2008 & 2010 in 16 modules and decided it looked to hairy to update.
I haven't touched Direct X since I upgraded from Windows 7 to 8.
Tadjio
PSP X6.2 Ultimate user
AfterShot Pro ASPirant
Windows 8.1 64-bit Pro
Canon EOS 100D, Olympus E-PM1 & iPhone 5
Tadjio
 
Posts: 1102
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 3:23 pm
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 8 Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte
processor: Core i7 2.8GHz 860
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI HD5570
sound_card: Sound
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2.5TB

Re: PSP X5 Runtime Error!

Postby Ken Berry on Fri Mar 08, 2013 2:08 am

I suggest updating DirectX since I have a number of other people -- admittedly using other software -- have reported similar Visual C++ problems, and correcting them with an updated DirectX. I confess, though, that I had not noticed you were running Win 8, and I suspect Microsoft has not issued any updates which would also apply to that new OS...
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 16061
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 17FB 10.58
processor: i7 2.2 GHz
ram: 4 GB
Video Card: Radeon HD 7690M XT 1 GB RAM
sound_card: On Board Intel
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 640 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: BENQ G2420 HD 1920x1080 24"

Re: PSP X5 Runtime Error!

Postby Tadjio on Fri Mar 08, 2013 10:40 am

I've updated my BB Profile to Windows 8 Pro :wink:
It seems I am on the latest DirectX.
Tadjio
PSP X6.2 Ultimate user
AfterShot Pro ASPirant
Windows 8.1 64-bit Pro
Canon EOS 100D, Olympus E-PM1 & iPhone 5
Tadjio
 
Posts: 1102
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 3:23 pm
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 8 Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte
processor: Core i7 2.8GHz 860
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI HD5570
sound_card: Sound
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2.5TB

Re: PSP X5 Runtime Error!

Postby Tadjio on Fri Mar 08, 2013 4:30 pm

Problem overcome :D
I first used the Installer to Uninstall the program, retaining my user data.
I then Installed X5 again and applied SP2.
Everything works as it used to :mrgreen:
Tadjio
PSP X6.2 Ultimate user
AfterShot Pro ASPirant
Windows 8.1 64-bit Pro
Canon EOS 100D, Olympus E-PM1 & iPhone 5
Tadjio
 
Posts: 1102
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 3:23 pm
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 8 Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte
processor: Core i7 2.8GHz 860
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI HD5570
sound_card: Sound
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2.5TB

Re: PSP X5 Runtime Error!

Postby DaveQ on Sat Mar 09, 2013 8:40 am

I have exactly the same problem.

I have uninstalled the program, and also removed all folders and registry entries to to with PaintShop Pro X5.
When I attempt to re-install, the installer cannot find the path to the extracted install files required (which are in a folder in Temp).
If I direct the installer to these files, the install completes, but still shows SP2 version, and then crashes with the same original error again.
DirectX is completely up to date as is MS Visual C++ Runtime.
I am running Windows 8 Pro X64.
PSPX5 worked perfectly for months up to just before the error started, and I did not install any new software around that time.
DaveQ
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2010 10:44 am
Location: South Africa
operating_system: Windows 8 Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Acer Aspire Ethos 8950G
processor: Intel Core i7 2630QM
ram: 16Gb DDR3
Video Card: AMD Radeon HD 6850M 2Gb DDR5
sound_card: Creative Labs 5.1 Surround Sound
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer 18.4" HD+ LED clear.fi

Re: PSP X5 Runtime Error!

Postby PentaxUser on Sat Mar 09, 2013 7:16 pm

I have exactly the same problem. The program worked fine yesterday, but today it failed with a runtime error as otherwise reported. I have both tried to repair and uninstalled PSP X5. I re-installed it and it seemed OK until I applied SP2. Then it failed again immediately. I would be grateful for any advice. (PSP X4 works, but it does not handle DNG files properly, so is no use.)
PentaxUser
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:16 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: AS Rock H61M-DGS
processor: Intel [R] Core [TM] i5-3350PCPU
ram: 8GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 520
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 520GBfree
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP 2009v

Re: PSP X5 Runtime Error!

Postby PentaxUser on Sun Mar 10, 2013 5:03 pm

It is now the following day. I finished yesterday by doing a Control Panel uninstall of PaintShop Pro X5, having re-installed my security software and other things that might have been a problem. Today, having checked all the Microsoft upgrades that were suggested (for another problem) and repaired them if necessary, I have re-installed PaintShop Pro X5 and SP2 (from the website, not from the menu in the program). At present all seems to be OK. I have opened PaintShop a number of times with success. :)

I suspect that some hidden upgrade to a Micosoft file caused the problem and that is why it happened at different times to different people. It is however distressing that PaintShop Pro X5 is so sensitive. X4, even with the SP2 for that program installed, did not cause any problems. I am glad that I had it available on my machine!

Incidentally, still have the problem recorded on a previous post with DNG and PEF (Pentax RAW format) files from my K-5 ii camera - the former have a multicoloured strip down the RHS and the latter show in reverse colour. The files from my K-r are OK, so SP2 is slightly suspect as the former is one of the new cameras that it claims to support.
PentaxUser
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:16 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: AS Rock H61M-DGS
processor: Intel [R] Core [TM] i5-3350PCPU
ram: 8GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 520
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 520GBfree
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP 2009v

Re: PSP X5 Runtime Error!

Postby Tadjio on Mon Mar 11, 2013 7:16 pm

PentaxUser wrote:It is now the following day. I finished yesterday by doing a Control Panel uninstall of PaintShop Pro X5... Today, having checked all the Microsoft upgrades that were suggested (for another problem) and repaired them if necessary, I have re-installed PaintShop Pro X5 and SP2 (from the website, not from the menu in the program). At present all seems to be OK. I have opened PaintShop a number of times with success. :)
I suspect that some hidden upgrade to a Micosoft file caused the problem and that is why it happened at different times to different people.

I've been away for the weekend and returned to find two of you had the same problem as me.
It does sound extremely likely that it is caused by an MS update :twisted:
I did report the issue to Corel Development but they didn't have an answer before I resolved it myself by uninstalling and reinstalling, using the downloaded installation file. (I skipped SP1 and just added SP2).
Tadjio
PSP X6.2 Ultimate user
AfterShot Pro ASPirant
Windows 8.1 64-bit Pro
Canon EOS 100D, Olympus E-PM1 & iPhone 5
Tadjio
 
Posts: 1102
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 3:23 pm
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 8 Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte
processor: Core i7 2.8GHz 860
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI HD5570
sound_card: Sound
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2.5TB

Re: PSP X5 Runtime Error!

Postby Mike1952 on Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:33 pm

Looks like some windows update has caused this then? Mine was working fine until last week when I received this error.

So the only way out is uninstall and re-install I guess.

Thanks for the info.

:)
Mike1952
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:29 pm
Location: Berkshire, UK
operating_system: Windows 8 Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC. M5A78L-M LX Rev X.0x
processor: AMD Phenom II X4 840 Processor 3.20 GHz
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI Radion HD 4800
sound_card: Onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2.7tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung SyncMaster 2033SB

Re: PSP X5 Runtime Error!

Postby Mike1952 on Wed Mar 13, 2013 8:22 pm

Uninstall/re-install has fixed this problem, thanks again folks.

:D
Mike1952
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:29 pm
Location: Berkshire, UK
operating_system: Windows 8 Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC. M5A78L-M LX Rev X.0x
processor: AMD Phenom II X4 840 Processor 3.20 GHz
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI Radion HD 4800
sound_card: Onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2.7tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung SyncMaster 2033SB

Re: PSP X5 Runtime Error!

Postby PentaxUser on Thu Mar 28, 2013 10:53 pm

Same thing has happened again! I got various Microsoft messages about there being a problem with the program, so I tried uninstalling and re-installing and it worked for a while but then crashed out again - closing down with no message this time - so I have uninstalled it and will try again tomorrow. Each time I uninstall I lose all my face recognition (but not my tags). This is really annoying as I am doing some family history and have to remember who all these people were again.

Can Corel not sort out the compatibility with Windows updates? By the way, I get a similar problem on my laptop running Windows XP, so it is not unique to Windows 7, or anything that I am doing on my desktop.

I am chewing the carpet. :cry:
PentaxUser
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:16 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: AS Rock H61M-DGS
processor: Intel [R] Core [TM] i5-3350PCPU
ram: 8GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 520
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 520GBfree
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP 2009v

Re: PSP X5 Runtime Error!

Postby Tadjio on Tue Apr 23, 2013 12:54 pm

The same Runtime Error occurred for me again yesterday.
I tried all sorts of approaches including Windows System Restore, checking that no Windows Updates had occurred, and then I tried Uninstall and Reinstall of PSP X5, as well as the Repair option.

None of these worked for me so I did an Uninstall again and ran the utility PSPX5_Cleanup.exe before Reinstalling.
According to the log, this did the following:
Force to uninstall all modules... (MSI)
Remove PaintShop Pro folder...
Remove registry data...

After this PSP X5 works but I lost all my Registry settings (the same as doing a Shift+PSPX5). I did restore my Workspace successfully.

I find it very worrying that one can lose the PSP Program so easily for no apparent reason :twisted:
Tadjio
PSP X6.2 Ultimate user
AfterShot Pro ASPirant
Windows 8.1 64-bit Pro
Canon EOS 100D, Olympus E-PM1 & iPhone 5
Tadjio
 
Posts: 1102
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 3:23 pm
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 8 Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte
processor: Core i7 2.8GHz 860
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI HD5570
sound_card: Sound
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2.5TB

Re: PSP X5 Runtime Error!

Postby JustWantItToWork on Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:38 am

Where do you get the PSPX5_Cleanup.exe? There appears to be one Dec 2012 post that mentioned it with a dropbox location that is 404. Searching google for the exe brings me only to this post. Searching the forum system brings up only this post and the one with the dead link. Searching Corel.com brings up nothing at all. At least that is the result I am getting... along with a copy of X5 that WAS working but now will NOT start due to the C++ Runtime error.

I have reinstalled and have updated my VS2010 and VS2012 And even then "downgraded" with the end-user VC++ runtime package.

If there is a Corel cleanup tool for the issues with uninstalling and reinstalling not fixing previous installs... where is it?

(BTW: Does anyone else think that requiring users to have to track down and beg for a hidden secret cleanup.exe to clear the registry of orphan values is a bit unprofessional? Either Corel should put a correct and fully functional uninstall script in their "uninstaller" or admit they don't care to follow the rules of writing software for Windows and just not include the "uninstall" option in their install system at all. Microsoft has made it clear for developers since DOS got the Windows shell: If you touch a shared resource like a file system or a ini/registry then you are supposed to clean up completely when users uninstall. An uninstaller that just shows a progress bar but leaves keys and folders on the disk is not an Uninstaller.)

Hope someone can tell me I'm all wet and the pspx5_Cleanup.exe is right in front of me. If not, a working link to a copy would be appreciated.

Thanks.
JustWantItToWork
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: California USA
operating_system: Windows 8 Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: intel i7
ram: 8gb
Video Card: intel
sound_card: realtec
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 256
Monitor/Display Make & Model: sony

Next

Return to Paint Shop Pro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests