PSPX4 - 2 Questions: Organizer + Workspace

Corel Paint Shop Pro

Moderator: trueblue

PSPX4 - 2 Questions: Organizer + Workspace

Postby stinky666 on Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:20 am

Hi everyone. I really hope you can help, which I am sure you can.
Both are most likely very simple solutions/answers. Which I hope so.

When I open up PSPX4, how can I make it so NO images load up in the organizer by default?


And secondly, I have modified my workspace to how I like/want it, I have saved it as "Graphite 2". How do I set this as my default workspace?
Currently when I close PSPX4 and open it again, it loads of the default X4 workspace and not my one.


Thanks for reading =)
stinky666
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:44 am
operating_system: Vista Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit

Re: PSPX4 - 2 Questions: Organizer + Workspace

Postby Trevor Andrew on Wed Oct 19, 2011 12:54 pm

Hi

I am relatively new to PSP and find the Navigation panel quite annoying, I am used to opening an image via Windows Explorer.
File—Open, or drag and drop from a windows folder.

This is what I did.
From the navigator selected a folder that had no images, so no images showed in the Organiser
Hid the Navigator
Right Click the Organiser – Preferences – Default Workspace as Keep last View

Ok well that seems to work with one big draw back
When I now select the Manage tab PSP freezes and “stops responding”
I have to close with Task Manager
Problem seems to be associated with Keep last View, not the hidden Navigator???

But the first bit seems to work provided I don’t hit the Manage tab.

Hmmmmm

Anybody else having this problem?
Trevor Andrew
 

Re: PSPX4 - 2 Questions: Organizer + Workspace

Postby stinky666 on Thu Oct 20, 2011 4:55 am

I have done the same for what you have for the organizer.
Any idea on how to set the default theme/workspace to the one I have modified to my liking?
stinky666
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:44 am
operating_system: Vista Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit

Re: PSPX4 - 2 Questions: Organizer + Workspace

Postby Trevor Andrew on Thu Oct 20, 2011 9:36 am

Hi

PSP seems to work ok for me.

It opens in Manager
Then when I select Edit the screen shows my saved workspace

No Navigator
Showing are:-
Layers
Script Output
History
Organiser

I haven’t done anything special to force it to open like this?????????
Seems to default to the last workspace used?
Trevor Andrew
 

Re: PSPX4 - 2 Questions: Organizer + Workspace

Postby stinky666 on Thu Oct 20, 2011 9:21 pm

I always have to right click > workspace > Graphite 2.
I have my preference set to open in "Edit" mode, which it does no matter what.
The attachment is what my Graphite 2 workspace looks like, but it opens the regular/default workspace. Any idea what to do?
Attachments
pspx4workspace2.png
Graphite 2 workspace
stinky666
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:44 am
operating_system: Vista Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit

Re: PSPX4 - 2 Questions: Organizer + Workspace

Postby Ken Berry on Thu Oct 20, 2011 9:38 pm

Hmmm... that's strange. I have my own preferred workspace saved under its own name. And each time PSP opens, it opens correctly in the Edit page and with my preferred workspace in place. Each and every time.

I just adjusted the workspace to look like yours, and then saved it as a new workspace. When I reopened PSP, it opened with the new workspace. I changed it back to my preferred workspace, and closed it again, then when I reopened, I had my preferred workspace showing.

So unfortunately, I am unable to replicate your problem. Have you tried resetting the overall program to the worspace default configuration and starting over again trying to set your own workspace? File > Preferences > Reset Preferences.
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 16249
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 17FB 10.58
processor: i7 2.2 GHz
ram: 4 GB
Video Card: Radeon HD 7690M XT 1 GB RAM
sound_card: On Board Intel
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 640 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: BENQ G2420 HD 1920x1080 24"

Re: PSPX4 - 2 Questions: Organizer + Workspace

Postby teknisyan on Thu Oct 20, 2011 11:26 pm

If you saved the workspace by going to FILE > WORKSPACE> SAVE.. and you have setup "Default Workspace as Keep last View" that should keep your customized workspace the same every time you open the program.

Additional suggestion... to what ken mentioned. You can also reset your workspace and then just load the saved workspace again.

You can do that by pressing and holding down the SHIFT key then double-click on the PSP icon then when you received the message "DO YOU WAN TO RESTORE PAINTSHOP Pro TO ITS DEFAULT STATE?" just click OK.
Like reading blogs?
About Tech
About Sports
Pnoy.Me - A URL Shortener
Follow me on Facebook & Twitter
User avatar
teknisyan
 
Posts: 2424
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 4:18 pm
Location: Riyadh, KSA
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Sony Corporation VAIO
processor: Intel Corel i5
ram: 4 GB
Video Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650
sound_card: Realtek HD Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 GB

Re: PSPX4 - 2 Questions: Organizer + Workspace

Postby stinky666 on Fri Oct 21, 2011 12:20 am

If you see in my above screen shot, I have my foreground and background palettes on the right hand side.
I have closed and opened PSPX4 and when I re-open it, it's that that changes. It's actually only that. Basically, it goes below, just above the layers. So it makes the layers box smaller in height.


I did what you suggested, and reset. I re-did the layout but still, the same thing happens. :-/


Edit:
it even does it when I switch to manage or adjust, then switch back to Edit.
I know it's easy enough to right click > workspace > graphite 2. It's just a pain having to do this all the time.
stinky666
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:44 am
operating_system: Vista Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit

Re: PSPX4 - 2 Questions: Organizer + Workspace

Postby stinky666 on Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:06 pm

Abiel Corel NA wrote:If you saved the workspace by going to FILE > WORKSPACE> SAVE.. and you have setup "Default Workspace as Keep last View" that should keep your customized workspace the same every time you open the program.

Additional suggestion... to what ken mentioned. You can also reset your workspace and then just load the saved workspace again.

You can do that by pressing and holding down the SHIFT key then double-click on the PSP icon then when you received the message "DO YOU WAN TO RESTORE PAINTSHOP Pro TO ITS DEFAULT STATE?" just click OK.



Where do I find "Default Workspace as Keep last View" ?
Apologies. I have looked and just can not find it.

Much appreciated.
stinky666
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:44 am
operating_system: Vista Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit

Re: PSPX4 - 2 Questions: Organizer + Workspace

Postby Kathy_9 on Mon Oct 24, 2011 4:59 pm

Go to File --> Preferences --> General Program Preferences and it's the last option "Default Launch Workspace" :)
Using PSP X6 without SP1 or SP2 & PSP X7

http://www.flickr.com/photos/37153430@N03/
Kathy_9
 
Posts: 1097
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:44 am
Location: USA
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI 2A9C
processor: 2.80 gigahertz Intel Core i7 860
ram: 8GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 220
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 750GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP 2010i 20" HD Ready LCD

Re: PSPX4 - 2 Questions: Organizer + Workspace

Postby Trevor Andrew on Mon Oct 24, 2011 6:44 pm

Hi

I think we may have missed the point. As I see it…….
stinky666 sets the workspace as the first image below, when changing from Edit to Manage then back to Edit the Materials palette changes size, the Foreground and Background colour panels change position, as shown in the second image. This in-turn reduces the size of the Layers palette…….

I have to say that I find the user interface a little annoying when trying to customise….. and does the same as stinky666 id describing

I tried setting the Palettes as “floating”, this seemed to work, but took a few attempts before I was able to set the Materials Panel as fixed. Then saved the workspace. PSP starts with the desired UI

psp 3.jpg
Attachments
psp 2.jpg
Trevor Andrew
 

Re: PSPX4 - 2 Questions: Organizer + Workspace

Postby stinky666 on Mon Oct 24, 2011 11:04 pm

Kathy_9 wrote:Go to File --> Preferences --> General Program Preferences and it's the last option "Default Launch Workspace" :)



The only problem with this, is that I want it to always open in "Edit" but using the customized theme I have made/edited.
Currently, it loads as the default theme. Where as I can go to "Workspace > Graphite 2" and that loads my edited theme that I prefer/use, but I have to do that every single time I open PSP X4.
stinky666
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:44 am
operating_system: Vista Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit

Re: PSPX4 - 2 Questions: Organizer + Workspace

Postby Kathy_9 on Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:22 am

Stinky - as long as you exit the program from the edit tab it will open to the edit tab with "keep last view" checked. I have mine set this way and it's not a problem as I never use manage or adjust.
Using PSP X6 without SP1 or SP2 & PSP X7

http://www.flickr.com/photos/37153430@N03/
Kathy_9
 
Posts: 1097
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:44 am
Location: USA
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI 2A9C
processor: 2.80 gigahertz Intel Core i7 860
ram: 8GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 220
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 750GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP 2010i 20" HD Ready LCD

Re: PSPX4 - 2 Questions: Organizer + Workspace

Postby stinky666 on Tue Oct 25, 2011 3:37 pm

Ok so, it does keep my theme/workspace for the most part, but the palettes do not remain where I have positioned them, to the right side. So no matter what, I have to either load my workspace, or push the layers up.
stinky666
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:44 am
operating_system: Vista Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit

Re: PSPX4 - 2 Questions: Organizer + Workspace

Postby allicorn on Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:47 pm

trevor andrew wrote:Hi

I think we may have missed the point. As I see it…….
stinky666 sets the workspace as the first image below, when changing from Edit to Manage then back to Edit the Materials palette changes size, the Foreground and Background colour panels change position, as shown in the second image. This in-turn reduces the size of the Layers palette…….


Just thought I'd chime in and say I get exactly the same fault. If I exit and restart PSP multiple times, what seems to happen is that the two panels there - Materials and Layers - gradually resize so that they each eventually end up with about 50% of the available space.

I worked around it by opening another palette I would never use (say "Overview"), docking that in the place of the previously docked Materials palette and then floating the Materials palette in front of it.
User avatar
allicorn
Advisor
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 12:39 am
Location: Somerset, UK
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Phenom II X6 1055T 3.2Ghz
ram: 4Gb
Video Card: ATI5670 1Gb + ATI4290 512Mb
sound_card: Realtek HD onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Belinea B2025S1W + LG M197WDP

Next

Return to Paint Shop Pro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests