NEW! Corel PaintShop Pro 2018

This Is How To Install MSP 7 or 8 on Microsoft Vista

A forum dedicated to Vista / Windows 7 related fixes and work rounds in relation to Corel's Intervideo/Ulead range of products.

Moderator: Ken Berry

This Is How To Install MSP 7 or 8 on Microsoft Vista

Postby sjj1805 » Mon Sep 10, 2007 11:46 pm

Thanks to a discovery by Forum member glesgaguy in this link
Got MSP8 running in Vista but no sound ADVICE PLEASE
it is now possible to install and run MediaStudio Pro 7 & 8 on Vista.
This thread is intended to describe in detail the steps required in order to achieve this.

For MediaStudio to work on Vista you must activate the Classic Windows Theme - Though you can also later modify that theme to include your own desktop wallpaper. Rather than keep activating/deactivating the theme I would consider it more practical to create a new Vista User Account.
You might also on a later date wish to set up a Video Editing Profile. - Don't do so yet I have yet to study this method on my Vista machine - that was something I created for XP.

To create a new user account click the Start Button and then Control Panel
Image

Select Classic view and then User Accounts
Image

Select manage another account
Image

On he box that pops up "Windows needs your permission to continue"
Image
Select Continue.

Create a new account
Image

Complete the new user account dialog box making the new user an administrator (We will use the account to install these programs, you can if you wish alter the user account to Standard user later)
Image

Make any other changes you may wish such as the user account picture and a password for the account (strongly recommended because this is an Administrator account)
Image

You can now close the user accounts screen.
Image

Now log off from Windows and then log into your new user account.
Image

After logging into the new user account right click on the desk top and select "personalize"
Image

Select "Theme"
Image

And then select Windows Classic theme
Image

This probably leaves your desktop looking a bit bland
Image

So if you wish you can alter the desktop background (Wallpaper) to something of your choosing:
Image

Image

Now close the Personalize screen Image

Installing MediaStudio Pro.

The procedure for MediaStudio Pro 7 and MediaStudio Pro 8 is the same and so to avoid repetition I shall use MediaStudio Pro 8 for the purposes of this tutorial.

Firstly navigate to the location on your hard drive where your setup files are located:
Image

Double click the set up file
Image
Allow the installation to continue.

When the next warning box appears
Image
Once again allow the installation to continue and select [Run Program]

Image

Image

Locate Video Editor in your Start menu:
Right click on it and then select [Properties]
Image

Select the Compatibility tab and check the box
[run the program in compatibility mode for:]
and Select Windows XP (Service pack 2)
Image

On the next warning screen tick the box [Do not show this warning again]
and select [Run Program]
Image

Here we are - MediaStudio Pro 8 installed and running on Microsoft Vista.
Image
Last edited by sjj1805 on Wed Jul 23, 2008 3:47 pm, edited 3 times in total.
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14932
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Vista Business also needed Codec pack

Postby iafilm » Fri Sep 14, 2007 5:04 am

I am running "Vista Business Edition" which is missing a lot of video codec support. I followed above instructions but I was not able to run at first.
Then, on installation of "Vista Codecs 4.5", I could run MSP8.
Ref page with download links:
http://www.jtow.net/users/triess/
Preview window "Quick Play" option is OK versus "Instant Play" not OK.
Like others, I observe no sound with "instant play" except when scrubbing, I also get crashing on "instant play" with some not-DV video codecs.
The "Source Window" is crippled to the point of being unusable.
iafilm
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 11:26 am
Location: New Zealand

Postby sjj1805 » Mon Sep 17, 2007 10:04 pm

I have found out how to get sound on the preview windows using Vista Home Premium :D

Image

Image

Enjoy
:D :D :D
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14932
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Postby iafilm » Sun Oct 28, 2007 12:07 am

Hello sjj1805, and others using this workaround, how is your source window behaving?
Until 19 Oct, mine failed to give picture or sound.
On 19 Oct, I ran "Windows Update" and then picture appeared in the Source Window! But still no sound! So I still effectively do NOT have a useful "Source Window".
Windows Vista "Business Edition". Locally assembled PC clone with Intel dual core CPU and 3 Gig of RAM. Also has Cyberlink PowerDVD installed.
iafilm
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 11:26 am
Location: New Zealand

no sound...

Postby guush » Sun Oct 28, 2007 9:55 am

also have no sound... Managed to get sound in the preview window
(see post thread : Got MSP8 running in Vista but no sound ADVICE PLEASE ) but no sound in the source window. This makes it necessary for me to use another video editor tool. Also using vista...
guush
 

Postby sjj1805 » Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:18 am

What you must remember is this - Officially MediaStudio Pro is NOT Vista compatible. We are lucky that through persistance and perseverence our members have found a way to get it to run at all.

The "Fix" has been forwarded to Corel in the hope that it may encourage them to try and come up with either a service pack or updated version.
That debate has however already been given quite a large airing within the MediaStudio Forum and so any discussion/debate needs to be addressed there.
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14932
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Postby vistastinks » Mon Nov 26, 2007 7:51 pm

I did everything you showed, when I hit finish it froze the screen then about 3 mins later I got an error message I'm trying to install the trial on a vista desktop. I uninstalled it is it worth me trying again or am i better off using video studio 11 I'm using for home videos and my version of pinnacle doesn't work on my new computer. Thanks :?
vistastinks
 

Postby Black Lab » Mon Nov 26, 2007 9:17 pm

If you are just doing home movies I would go with VS11. First of all, it is designed to work with Vista (MSP is not) and second, it's a heckuva lot cheaper!

If you decide to purchase just make sure you download any updates to your purchased version (updates can't be applied to trial versions).
User avatar
Black Lab
 
Posts: 7437
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 3:11 pm
Location: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Postby sjj1805 » Tue Nov 27, 2007 1:27 am

I fully agree with the advice given by Black Lab and you are best advised at this time to go for the Vista compliant VideoStudio 11.5+

The steps outlined in this thread are meant only to assist existing owners of MediaStudio to get a working version running on Vista. It is not meant as an encouragement for someone just starting out to go and purchase a copy.
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14932
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Uninstall MSP8 from Vista?

Postby skyml » Fri Feb 08, 2008 2:06 am

Ok, installed MSP8 on my Vista system as suggested here. Seemed to work as reported. However! Can not capture video. Have VS11+ installed also (oh how I hait VS) and it won't capture either.

Posted this error on the forum and got no solutions for capture error in either MSP or VS11+ (capture module initialization failed or video capture driver error). Windows Movie Maker does capture BTW.

Uninstalled VS11+ and reinstalled but this did not help.

Now I want to uninstall MSP8 but can't seem to be able to. I select uninstall from the Windows control panel and it tries to install MSP8. If I enter my reg info it stops and tells me I already have MSP8 installed. But no option for uninstall. Even tried Windows Install cleanup utility but there is no reference to MSP there.

Had set a Windows Restore point prior to installing MSP8 but in true MS fashion the restore point does not exist when I try to set it back.

HELP! Do not want to go through the nightmare of wiping the HD and starting over.

Mike Lanfor
AirPlay
skyml
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 8:40 pm
Location: Orange County, CA
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Sony VIAO 64bit
processor: Intel Quad Core i7
ram: 6GB
Video Card: NVIDIA Geforce with Cuda
sound_card: on motherboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 650GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Sony VIAO 17"

Postby sjj1805 » Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:00 pm

Do a manual removal of the program.
The locations of the files and registry entries can be found here:
Re-Installation of Ulead Products

In fact I just tidied the post up in view of various differences now that we have
a. Vista
b. Corel
:!: :!: :!:
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14932
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

How To Install MSP 7 or 8 on Microsoft Vista

Postby james wilkins » Mon Sep 15, 2008 4:43 am

well thanks for such description....................
it eas innovative and informative...........
can i get those sound packages
-------------------------------
james wilkins

Viral Marketing
james wilkins
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 4:37 am

Re: This Is How To Install MSP 7 or 8 on Microsoft Vista

Postby kirilll » Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:06 am

Thanks for this,man.It really helped out a lot.
kirilll
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:01 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: D
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: This Is How To Install MSP 7 or 8 on Microsoft Vista

Postby chazdole2+ » Tue Jan 10, 2017 4:50 pm

How I fixed my MSP8 and Win7 "no sound" issue.

http://forum.corel.com/EN/viewtopic.php?f=52&t=47408

Note that I have a number of other programs installed on my computer, so I don't know which ones added which codecs, etc., but I am also able to export to an x264 codec. Apparently the Libav codec was installed at some point. A search shows VLC Media Player apparently was the program that installed the Libav codec.

When "Creating a video file," I choose avi, then the choose the "x264vfw-H.264/MPEG-4 AVC codec" to render. Lots of options with this codec. Rendering speeds are good, on par with Sony Movie Studio Platinum 13, which is good considering MSP8 is 32 bit, and SMSP13 is 64 bit. Haven't tried to create a Bluray disk with these files yet. For some reason only PCM audio (as well as DV and some other odd ones) is available with this codec.
chazdole2+
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 9:55 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Ultimate
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asrock 970 Extreme4
processor: AMD FX-8350
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX-660
sound_card: Onboard
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG 20", Akai 32"
Corel programs: MSP5,6,7,8, DVDMF2,4,5,6,7


Return to Microsoft Vista / Windows 7

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest