UNKNOWN ACM FORMAT

Postby sojiro21 on Fri Mar 11, 2011 6:18 pm

When i go to the clip properties, under the AUDIO label it says UNKNOWN ACM FORMAT.

This type of video will not burn with sound. . . I think I may need a codec? But I am not sure how to go about doing this.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

------------

Ok so this problem is really irritating...

I try to add video to the project via drag-n-drop; There is no sound in the preview window.

This problem seems to be limited to large video files (over 1 hour) but anything less (30 min video) the sound plays perfectly. I am totally lost on this one... I hope someone can help.
sojiro21
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 5:47 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: UNKNOWN ACM FORMAT

Postby DVDDoug on Fri Mar 11, 2011 6:47 pm

Do you have any idea what the format is? Where did the file come from?

You can try converting the file to something else with SUPER (FREE!!!). SUPER has lots of format options, so if you're making a regular DVD you can choose DVD-compatible MPEG-2 with LPCM or AC3 audio. If you need help with the format details, let us know what kind of disc your tring to burn (DVD, Blu-Ray, NTSC or PAL, etc.

(And if you download SUPER, follow the confusing links on their confusing website and make you're downloading SUPER, and not another program from one of the advertisements!)
Head over heels,
No time to think.
It's like the whole world's
Out of... sync.

- Head Over Heels, The Go-Gos.
DVDDoug
Moderator
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 12:50 am
Location: Silicon Valley

Re: UNKNOWN ACM FORMAT

Postby teknisyan on Fri Mar 11, 2011 8:57 pm

Hello sojiro21,

I look up what ACM file are and here's what I got, Audio Compression Manager (ACM) and like what DVDDoug said you may need to change the format of your video to a supported file format of DVD MovieFactory.
Like reading blogs?
About Tech
About Sports
Pnoy.Me - A URL Shortener
Follow me on Facebook & Twitter
User avatar
teknisyan
 
Posts: 2424
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 4:18 pm
Location: Riyadh, KSA
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Sony Corporation VAIO
processor: Intel Corel i5
ram: 4 GB
Video Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650
sound_card: Realtek HD Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 GB

Re: UNKNOWN ACM FORMAT

Postby sojiro21 on Sat Mar 12, 2011 9:38 am

Thank you both for your help! I just installed some codec pack and it seems like it did the trick!!
sojiro21
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 5:47 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: UNKNOWN ACM FORMAT

Postby Ron P. on Sat Mar 12, 2011 10:04 am

sojiro21 wrote:Thank you both for your help! I just installed some codec pack and it seems like it did the trick!!


Don't be surprised if you start having problems with rendering... Codec packs are risky business. What codec pack did you install, K-lite? The packs are generally thrown together by someone that has no clue on what their doing. Not only can the various codecs conflict with what's already installed on your system, but they will also conflict with other codecs in the same "pack".
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12017
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
Location: Kansas, USA
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell SE198WFP-Desktop


Return to DVD MovieFactory

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests