NEW! Corel PaintShop Pro 2018

GA 5 shuts down

GIF Animator, SmartSaver Pro, Plugins, Applets....

Moderator: VikingAnimations

GA 5 shuts down

Postby coldwetnoz » Thu Jan 06, 2011 1:31 am

Hello. I'm new to this forum and I'm just glad I found you.

Lately, when I try to open images with GA 5, it either refuses to open the file by freezing the file or freezing GA. When this happens the screen goes light gray and that's all she wrote! Can somebody tell me what's causing this? It's given alot of headaches and frustration. I've done a re-install and it didn't help.

Thanks
Image
coldwetnoz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 5:53 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI P43-F
processor: Intel
ram: 2GB
sound_card: Realtek
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 407 GB

Re: GA 5 shuts down

Postby Ken Berry » Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:08 am

Has it worked since you installed Windows 7? I ask because GA is now a rather old program and may not be fully compatible with Win 7...
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19561
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2B0F
processor: Core i3-4130T 2.9 GHz
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: NVidia GeForce 710A
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: AOC 28" 1920 x 1080
Corel programs: VS X10; PSP 2018; MS3D; ASP 3

Re: GA 5 shuts down

Postby coldwetnoz » Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:42 am

I did some checking and yes, I believe it did start right after I switched to Windows 7. So is there no help for it?

Off topic: Why doesn't Corel offer us a new upgraded version of GA 5 since it's so popular?

Thanks
Image
coldwetnoz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 5:53 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI P43-F
processor: Intel
ram: 2GB
sound_card: Realtek
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 407 GB

Re: GA 5 shuts down

Postby VikingAnimations » Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:11 am

Corel stopped supporting GIF Animator 5 a few years ago (before Win 7), and it was never updated to be compatible with Vista or Windows 7. (Therefore I'm hanging on to my Win XP machine!) Corel has dropped support for almost all former Ulead products. As for why they decided to stop supporting or updating GA 5, your guess is as good as mine. It truly defies logic. It's a wonderful program.

As to the pickle you are now in, all I can suggest is using the virtual XP mode in Windows 7 to see if that works.
User avatar
VikingAnimations
Moderator
 
Posts: 941
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD A4-6300 APU w. Radeon HD Graphics 3.7 GHz
ram: 4 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Corel programs: Ulead GIF Animator 5.05

Re: GA 5 shuts down

Postby coldwetnoz » Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:39 am

Thanks, Robert. It's bad news for me unless virtual XP works. Hmmmmm....... Hubby still has XP...maybe I could take my files to his computer for animating. That's Plan B and Plan C. I'll let you know.

Pauline
Image
coldwetnoz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 5:53 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI P43-F
processor: Intel
ram: 2GB
sound_card: Realtek
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 407 GB

Re: GA 5 shuts down

Postby coldwetnoz » Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:00 am

I haven't tried switching to XP mode, yet but I do have Windows XP on my laptop and I tried it tonight with GA and it works fine! So that's one option. How difficult is it to switch to XP mode and back?

Thanks,
Pauline
Image
coldwetnoz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 5:53 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI P43-F
processor: Intel
ram: 2GB
sound_card: Realtek
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 407 GB

Re: GA 5 shuts down

Postby VikingAnimations » Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:25 am

One thing I have noticed on Windows 7 is that GA5 will hang if the image you are opening is in a folder full of lots of other pictures, and you have the thumbnail view set for that folder, and not Details… If you can change the view in that folder to details via Windows Explorer, that may work. I think I had that problem initially, too… Too many image files on this machine!

win_exp_options.gif
win_exp_options.gif (15.53 KiB) Viewed 1508 times
win_exp_options-2.gif
win_exp_options-2.gif (11.55 KiB) Viewed 1508 times


Maybe take the image you want to open, put it in folder all by itself and open it. Or, right-click on the image, and do "open with…" and pick GA 5 (anygif.exe).
User avatar
VikingAnimations
Moderator
 
Posts: 941
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD A4-6300 APU w. Radeon HD Graphics 3.7 GHz
ram: 4 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Corel programs: Ulead GIF Animator 5.05

Re: GA 5 shuts down

Postby coldwetnoz » Sat Jan 08, 2011 5:44 pm

Okay, Thanks.
I'll do that.

Pauline
Image
coldwetnoz
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 5:53 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI P43-F
processor: Intel
ram: 2GB
sound_card: Realtek
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 407 GB


Return to GIF Animator & Web Utilities

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests