NEW! Corel PaintShop Pro 2018

Question regarding exporting gifs to avi.

GIF Animator, SmartSaver Pro, Plugins, Applets....

Moderator: VikingAnimations

Question regarding exporting gifs to avi.

Postby mdbess » Sat May 15, 2010 10:38 am

I am attempting to export a gif as an avi using Gif Animator and I'm having trouble figuring out how make an avi that doesn't ignore the frame delays I have set. I want some frames to be longer and others to be shorter, and this works fine when saving as a gif, but when exporting to avi every frame shows for the same length of time. Is there any setting I can change to fix this?
mdbess
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 10:30 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R LGA 775 Intel P45
processor: Intel Core 2 Duo 6600
ram: 4GB
Video Card: Nvidia GEforce 8800 GTS
sound_card: Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB

Re: Question regarding exporting gifs to avi.

Postby VikingAnimations » Mon May 17, 2010 3:27 pm

Unfortunately, no... You'll have to ignore the frame delays and make duplicates of frames that play longer.

There are several frame rates you can choose from, as noted in the screen shot of the Video Options dialog box. You'll have to adjust your frames to work with the rate you pick. All your frame delays will have to be the same, and adding/removing frames will be how you have to do the timing.

If Corel grabs a brain and decides to start supporting and developing GA again, this would be a nice improvement - automatically adding needed frames to pad out a video.
Attachments
avi.gif
avi.gif (8.48 KiB) Viewed 5238 times
User avatar
VikingAnimations
Moderator
 
Posts: 941
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD A4-6300 APU w. Radeon HD Graphics 3.7 GHz
ram: 4 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Corel programs: Ulead GIF Animator 5.05

Re: Question regarding exporting gifs to avi.

Postby sjj1805 » Tue May 18, 2010 1:04 am

mdbess wrote:...... I want some frames to be longer and others to be shorter ....


You have to think outside the box. Find a common multiplier for the frames and then duplicate those that you want to be longer than others.

For example let us say you have 5 frames and you want them to be displayed for the following number of seconds.

Frame A 1 second
Frame B 1 Second
Frame C 2 seconds
Frame D 1 Second
Frame E 2 seconds.

What you would do is duplicate Frames C and E and place them on the time line as
ABCCDEE
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14932
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Re: Question regarding exporting gifs to avi.

Postby VikingAnimations » Tue May 18, 2010 4:08 am

That's what I said, Steve. More or less... ;)
User avatar
VikingAnimations
Moderator
 
Posts: 941
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD A4-6300 APU w. Radeon HD Graphics 3.7 GHz
ram: 4 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Corel programs: Ulead GIF Animator 5.05


Return to GIF Animator & Web Utilities

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests