NEW! Corel PaintShop Pro 2018

GIF Animator 5.xx OK on Windows 7 and More

GIF Animator, SmartSaver Pro, Plugins, Applets....

Moderator: VikingAnimations

GIF Animator 5.xx OK on Windows 7 and More

Postby NealAZ » Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:20 am

I just moved GIF Animator 5.00(2001) and 5.05(2002) from my W2K box to my Windows 7 Home Premium laptop and both initially appear to work fine. I have not attempted any extensive operations.

I'm running compatibility as on Windows XP (SP3)...

The trick is to copy the complete directory to the target computer.

I did not try this on Vista...

Essentially GA is a stand alone program once you have an installation it will run most anywhere.
NealAZ
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Arizona

Postby VikingAnimations » Mon Jan 04, 2010 4:19 am

That's good to know, thanks!

This PC doesn't have the horsepower for Win 7, but I imagine my next PC, whenever I get around to that, will.
User avatar
VikingAnimations
Moderator
 
Posts: 941
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD A4-6300 APU w. Radeon HD Graphics 3.7 GHz
ram: 4 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Corel programs: Ulead GIF Animator 5.05

Win 7 Horsepower

Postby NealAZ » Mon Jan 04, 2010 2:17 pm

VikingAnimations wrote:That's good to know, thanks!

This PC doesn't have the horsepower for Win 7, but I imagine my next PC, whenever I get around to that, will.


Actually Win 7 runs great on an AMD XP2600+ CPU and the memory requirements are about 1.5GB ram installed. I was a beta tester...

Just turn off the useless bells and whistles.
NealAZ
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Arizona

Postby VikingAnimations » Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:49 am

This machine isn't even quite up to snuff for Vista... :D I like Windows XP, I'm not in a hurry. ;)
User avatar
VikingAnimations
Moderator
 
Posts: 941
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD A4-6300 APU w. Radeon HD Graphics 3.7 GHz
ram: 4 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Corel programs: Ulead GIF Animator 5.05

Re: GIF Animator 5.xx OK on Windows 7 and More

Postby Hendrikus » Sun Oct 10, 2010 3:20 pm

Hi, this is exactly my problem, I bought Ulead Gid Animator 5 a couple of months ago and I can´t make it work on my brand new HP Pavilion dv4 2090br notebook which came with a fantastic windows 7. You said that you managed to make it work? How? just by copying what? I really did´nt understand, can you explain that a little bette, easyerr? Man, I´m glad I found you, its been very frustrating, I´ve tryed so many othe gifs animators but none are comparable with the Ulead 5. Thanks you for your explanation.
Hendrikus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 3:11 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 1409 50.17
processor: Intel Core i5
ram: 6GB
Video Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4550 Graphics
sound_card: altec lansing
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500GB

Re: GIF Animator 5.xx OK on Windows 7 and More

Postby VikingAnimations » Mon Oct 11, 2010 11:37 am

Hendrikus, wat sort of specific errors are you running into? The more info, the better. Have you tried it in Windows XP mode? (I hear you can run Win XP on Win 7 in some manner of Virtual Machine mode, but I've still yet to play with Win 7 to fiddle around.)

If the original poster, NealAZ happens to wander by, I'd like to know what "bells and whistles" he turned off. I assume from his post he didn't actually run the installer, but just copied from his W2K box to his Win 7 box, the entire C:\Program Files\Ulead yadda yadda\ directories. Is Neal's machine a 64-bit or 32-bit?

I know that on Vista, GA5 would work fine for some, and not at all for others. I never came across any explanation as to WHY...
User avatar
VikingAnimations
Moderator
 
Posts: 941
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD A4-6300 APU w. Radeon HD Graphics 3.7 GHz
ram: 4 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Corel programs: Ulead GIF Animator 5.05

Re: GIF Animator 5.xx OK on Windows 7 and More

Postby NealAZ » Mon Oct 11, 2010 3:00 pm

To make Windows 7 run faster: Right Click on "My Computer" icon and select properties:

-- Under Advanced System Settings --> "Performance" --> Settings --> Visual Effects --> Select "Adjust for best performance".

-- Under Advanced Tab --> Virtual Memory --> Change the paging file to have a Custom fixed Initial and Maximum size of the same value.

-- Use a solid color for the desktop, no fancy themes and use the Marque screensaver.

Note: My Laptop uses just 805MB of memory with Cacheman, anti-virus, spyware and firewall programs running.

As for GIF Animator, the ones I use came with PhotoImpact and installed with it under W2K. The program does not register in Windows it runs as a stand alone utility. Thus you can copy it from any computer that has PhotoImpact w/GA installed. It's located in a sub-directory where PhotoImpact landed, it could be called AnyGif.
NealAZ
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: GIF Animator 5.xx OK on Windows 7 and More

Postby Hendrikus » Mon Oct 11, 2010 10:47 pm

VikingAnimations wrote:Hendrikus, wat sort of specific errors are you running into? The more info, the better. Have you tried it in Windows XP mode? (I hear you can run Win XP on Win 7 in some manner of Virtual Machine mode, but I've still yet to play with Win 7 to fiddle around.)

If the original poster, NealAZ happens to wander by, I'd like to know what "bells and whistles" he turned off. I assume from his post he didn't actually run the installer, but just copied from his W2K box to his Win 7 box, the entire C:\Program Files\Ulead yadda yadda\ directories. Is Neal's machine a 64-bit or 32-bit?

I know that on Vista, GA5 would work fine for some, and not at all for others. I never came across any explanation as to WHY...


Hi there Robert,

Thank you for you helping me out with this. Actually, I don´t get anything out of it. If I click on him, he just appears to open but not, he does not. Also, I use to run UGA5 on Windows Xp SP3 and it worked just fine. Yes, I have a Windows XP Virtual Mode but quality output is bad, too bad, seems that he takes some of the quality out, something like sandblasting the pictures. Is there any other Gif Animator that just works like the UGA5?

Thank you again Robert, hope you´ll be able to help me out, maaannnnn I need it so bad.

Hendrikud

P.S., I went into your site and found out that you have some Viking background as I do to, from my fathers side, far north of Sweeden, area of Björkliden and my Mom is from Tel Aviv, she´s born there. I´m living in Brazil, Cabo Frio area, 80 miles north of Rio on the coast.
Hendrikus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 3:11 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 1409 50.17
processor: Intel Core i5
ram: 6GB
Video Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4550 Graphics
sound_card: altec lansing
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500GB

Re: GIF Animator 5.xx OK on Windows 7 and More

Postby VikingAnimations » Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:17 am

If it works in Virtual XP mode, what settings are you using during optimization? http://vikingswebanimation.ca/tuts/workspace.htm#optimizetab For best results, use 256 colors, dither 100. Lossy 0.

Anything specific to Windows 7 I can't help you with. As I said earlier, I've never used it.
User avatar
VikingAnimations
Moderator
 
Posts: 941
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD A4-6300 APU w. Radeon HD Graphics 3.7 GHz
ram: 4 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Corel programs: Ulead GIF Animator 5.05

Re: GIF Animator 5.xx OK on Windows 7 and More

Postby Hendrikus » Wed Oct 13, 2010 10:02 pm

VikingAnimations wrote:If it works in Virtual XP mode, what settings are you using during optimization? http://vikingswebanimation.ca/tuts/workspace.htm#optimizetab For best results, use 256 colors, dither 100. Lossy 0.

Anything specific to Windows 7 I can't help you with. As I said earlier, I've never used it.


Hi there Robert,
Well, something weird has happen yesterday.
10 years ago, I´ve tryed UGA5 from ULEAD and used it during the trial but since I had no new contract, i deleted it but kept the program in my files but unistalled. Yestrday, I misinstalled this old software and it worked great with windows 7. I can only open .avi videos on it but this is not a problem since I can convert all videos to .avi with no problem. Odd is´nt it? the older version of UGA5 (2000) works fine on Windows 7 and the new one (2007) does not. Anyway, thank you so much for your precious help.
Bye for now
Hendrikus
Hendrikus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 3:11 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 1409 50.17
processor: Intel Core i5
ram: 6GB
Video Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4550 Graphics
sound_card: altec lansing
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500GB

Re: GIF Animator 5.xx OK on Windows 7 and More

Postby VikingAnimations » Thu Oct 14, 2010 4:02 am

I'm glad it's working for you now! :D Hopefully that's not the trial, and it doesn't expire on you.
User avatar
VikingAnimations
Moderator
 
Posts: 941
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD A4-6300 APU w. Radeon HD Graphics 3.7 GHz
ram: 4 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Corel programs: Ulead GIF Animator 5.05


Return to GIF Animator & Web Utilities

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests