x6 "device error. Cannot open the wave-in device"

Postby jdowney on Thu Jul 25, 2013 9:05 pm

Hi,

I have X4 Pro, X5 and X6 Ultimate installed on my computer; as well as, a few older versions of ULead software. I keeping getting this message: "device error. Cannot open the wave-in device" every time I try to use the microphone option in X6 to try and narrate my video.

The microphone option works fine in X5...

The trouble is I am using the track motion option from X6 in my video, so I cannot open the video in X5. So I am hoping that someone else has had this problem, and can tell me how they fixed it. Is it some sort of driver problem, or is there a corrupt file that needs replacing etc...

Thank you.

Jeff
jdowney
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:49 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada
operating_system: Windows 7 Ultimate
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabit
processor: Intel Dual Core 3GHz
ram: 16 Gig
Video Card: 1 geforce GS 8400 1 geforce GT440
sound_card: Auzen X-Neridian 7.1 2G
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 3 dell 170p Monitors

Re: x6 "device error. Cannot open the wave-in device"

Postby jdowney on Mon Aug 12, 2013 9:44 pm

Hi


Has anyone ever experienced this issue? I get the following window popping up:

device error. Cannot open the wave-in device.png
device error. Cannot open the wave-in device.png (33.85 KiB) Viewed 712 times



Any help would be greatly appreciated

Jeff
jdowney
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:49 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada
operating_system: Windows 7 Ultimate
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabit
processor: Intel Dual Core 3GHz
ram: 16 Gig
Video Card: 1 geforce GS 8400 1 geforce GT440
sound_card: Auzen X-Neridian 7.1 2G
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 3 dell 170p Monitors

Re: x6 "device error. Cannot open the wave-in device"

Postby lata on Tue Aug 13, 2013 11:18 am

Hi Jeff

I guess the lack of response means nobody knows.

I wondered if the problem was the type of clips, or maybe applying edits that’s causing the problem, so I thought I would try.
I do not use the Voice Over that much but when I have it has always worked.

Incredibly I am getting the same error, :oops: can you help :D :) :wink:

I will see what I can find????

Hi Jeff post updated
VS X6

It seems to be associated with the timeline content.

New Project --Empty timeline creates the error
Add video sample clip from library, these do not have audio, still errors

Add a video clip that has audio, no problems. (Project Properties auto change to match video file)
Clear the timeline, still no problems

Maybe associated with Project Properties

Unfortunately haven’t identified the exact culprit

What content have you in the timelines
If using standard definition do you use the “Show messages option to match the project properties.

Very Strange???
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4116
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC. M3A78-CM Rev X.0x
processor: 2.20 gigahertz AMD Phenom 9550 Quad-Core
ram: 4 gb
Video Card: ATI Radeon 3100 Graphics [Display adapter]
sound_card: on board--VIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 off 500G
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]

Re: x6 "device error. Cannot open the wave-in device"

Postby jdowney on Wed Aug 14, 2013 11:14 pm

Hi Lata,


Thank you very much for helping me. This is a very strange one, and unlike other users who had similar problem in X5 etc, I did not have this issue with previous versions of video studio, only X6; it seem to be reversed for both you and I...

In any event I am using Standard Definition video clips (made from my Sony camcorder) with sound and always get this error. I have also tried to create a new project and used 1 of the X6 templates with sound, and I get the same error message...

I am beginning to think that it might me a corrupt file issue, because it did not happen in earlier versions...

Jeff

PS: I have a ugly work around. Simply record the voice narration and save it as a wave file, them import the wave file into your video timeline; repeat until your are done...
jdowney
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:49 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada
operating_system: Windows 7 Ultimate
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabit
processor: Intel Dual Core 3GHz
ram: 16 Gig
Video Card: 1 geforce GS 8400 1 geforce GT440
sound_card: Auzen X-Neridian 7.1 2G
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 3 dell 170p Monitors

Re: x6 "device error. Cannot open the wave-in device"

Postby Ken Berry on Wed Aug 14, 2013 11:59 pm

I have a ugly work around. Simply record the voice narration and save it as a wave file, them import the wave file into your video timeline; repeat until your are done...

I wouldn't call it ugly. In fact, I would call it my regular workflow. I have never liked the inbuilt voiceover function, so always record my voiceovers using a third party audio editor. Then insert them into VS. It gives me more control over quality and more audio filters etc.
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 16065
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 17FB 10.58
processor: i7 2.2 GHz
ram: 4 GB
Video Card: Radeon HD 7690M XT 1 GB RAM
sound_card: On Board Intel
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 640 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: BENQ G2420 HD 1920x1080 24"


Return to VideoStudio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher and 24 guests