Video Studio Pro X6 - supported graphics card

Postby kodl on Mon Mar 18, 2013 11:09 am

Hi all,

It’s very frustrating spend money for new graphics card with CUDA,Open CL,Stream and/or other technolgies and not use these features for video editing/rendering.

I would like to compensate missing support from Corel's side. It's surely Corel's task to list supported HW (graphics card).

Please write into this topic as my real example below:
Code: Select all
Operating System:             Windows 7 Pro 64bit + SP1
Graphics card:                NVidia GTX650-E 2GB
Graphics card driver:         NVidia 314.07 - WHQL   
Editing HW acceleration:      set able (or greyed - not stable)
Rendering HW acceleration:    greyed - not set able (or set able)   
HW acceleration optimization: set able (or greyed - not stable)
Note:                         other info or experience   
kodl
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:08 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad
ram: 8GB
Video Card: Nvidia Quadro 600
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 8 TB

Re: Video Studio Pro X6 - supported graphics card

Postby kodl on Mon Mar 18, 2013 3:36 pm

This topic concerns CVS X6 and HW acceleration by graphics card (see the troubles in topic http://forum.corel.com/EN/viewtopic.php?t=48548 with CUDA acceleration option greyed out etc.
It would be fine to share our experience with different graphics cards.

kodl
kodl
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:08 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad
ram: 8GB
Video Card: Nvidia Quadro 600
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 8 TB

Re: Video Studio Pro X6 - supported graphics card

Postby kodl on Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:14 pm

How You could help?

1. Open Corel Video Studio
2. Click Settings-Preferences-Performance
3. Is set able Editting Process - Enable Hardware Decoder acceleration?
4. Is set able File Creation - Enable Hardware Decoder acceleration?
5. Is set able File Creation - Enable Hardware Encoder acceleration?
6. Is set able Performance Optimization - Enable hardware acceleration optimization?
7. Post this informartion with graphics card type to this thread like my result:


Code: Select all
Result:
Operating System:           Windows 7 Pro 64bit + SP1
Graphics card:                NVidia 9500GT (Gainward)
Graphics card driver:         NVidia 314.07 - WHQL   
Editting Process - Enable Hardware Decoder acceleration: set able
File Creation - Enable Hardware Decoder acceleration: set able
File Creation - Enable Hardware Encoder acceleration: set able
Performance Optimization - Enable hardware acceleration optimization: set able
Note:                         


ilustration for postby kodl on 18 Mar 2013 12:09 Image
kodl
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:08 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad
ram: 8GB
Video Card: Nvidia Quadro 600
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 8 TB

Re: Video Studio Pro X6 - supported graphics card

Postby Ken Berry on Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:30 pm

Have a look at this post. It may resolve your problem as it has for others: viewtopic.php?p=260354#p260354
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 16048
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 17FB 10.58
processor: i7 2.2 GHz
ram: 4 GB
Video Card: Radeon HD 7690M XT 1 GB RAM
sound_card: On Board Intel
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 640 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: BENQ G2420 HD 1920x1080 24"

Re: Video Studio Pro X6 - supported graphics card

Postby kodl on Wed Mar 20, 2013 10:29 am

Thanks Ken,

I have read all topics related to this issue very carefully. Mentioned setting in NVIDIA control panel doesn't help (GTX650-E). There is probably problem in testing hw acceleration routine in CVS. NVIDIA 9500GT works with all HW accelerations.

-kodl-
kodl
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:08 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad
ram: 8GB
Video Card: Nvidia Quadro 600
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 8 TB

Re: Video Studio Pro X6 - supported graphics card

Postby countpierre on Wed Mar 20, 2013 5:43 pm

VS_acc.png
VS Pro X6
countpierre
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 8:27 am
Location: U.K.
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: IPISB-CH2
processor: Intel Core i7 2600
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT545
sound_card: Integrated IDT 92HD89E
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP 2311x

Re: Video Studio Pro X6 - supported graphics card

Postby kodl on Thu Apr 11, 2013 8:21 pm

Hi all,

there is other very strange result of my test: NVIDIA QUADRO 600 doesn't help with video creation in Corel Video Studio X6! This is very low CUDA utilization, practically ZERO, because all video makers know - the power is necessary mainly for encoding process. :(

Code: Select all
Result:
Operating System:             Windows 7 Pro 64bit + SP1
Graphics card:                NVidia QUADRO 600
Graphics card driver:         NVidia 311.15
Editting Process - Enable Hardware Decoder acceleration:  set able
File Creation - Enable Hardware Decoder acceleration:     set able
File Creation - Enable Hardware Encoder acceleration:     NOT set able (greyed)
Performance Optimization - Enable hardware acceleration optimization: set able
Note:

-kodl-

Image
kodl
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:08 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad
ram: 8GB
Video Card: Nvidia Quadro 600
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 8 TB

Re: Video Studio Pro X6 - supported graphics card

Postby kodl on Thu Feb 13, 2014 4:14 pm

I have to write an update to this topic. I have used offical Corel Support to solve this missed HW acceleration for Quadro 600.

28 Mar 2013 open Case
Case Number xxxx

I have currently Nvidia Quadro 600 card. But CVS doesn't use encoder hw
acceleration - this otpion is not set able in preferences and realy
encoder doesn't use hw acceleration but my old Nvidia 9500GT does.

Quadro 600 is surely graphics card with hw acceleration (CUDA and Open
CL).

What I have to do to use this feature declared by Corel in CVS ?

2 Apr 2013 Corel asked some information
In order to properly assist with troubleshooting your issue, I am going to
request some information regarding your computer. This will ensure a swift
and prompt response and allow me to make a sound technical judgement of
what possibly ails your application.

I require a copy of your DXDIAG report from your Windows OS.

To get the DXDIAG report, Click on Start >> In the Search Box type: dxdiag
and then press enter.

When the DirectX Diagnostic Tool window comes up, click on the Save All
Information button. Please save it as text file, and attach it to a reply
to this e-mail.

3 Apr 2013 Corel asked some information
DXDIAG information sent to Corel

5 Apr 2013 Corel's response
CUDA support has to be a certain version level. If you have the latest
drivers, you may be at Version 3. I believe Videostudio is Version 2
compatible only. To be sure, I have e-mailed my engineering team for the
answer to this.

9 Apr 2013 Corel's response
I am just following up with you to advise that I am still waiting for a
reply as to which version of CUDA is required for Videostudio. Thank you
for your continued patience.

7 May 2013 Corel's mails
It has been confirmed that CUDA Version 2 is what Videostudio supports.
There has been an engineering request to provide said support. Please
watch our website for Service Packs and Updates that promote this
inclusion.

Thanks for letting us know about this issue. Our engineering department is
assessing it to determine whether it is a valid product defect. This
process can take some time. When the issue has been addressed, we will
send you additional information by email.

You can view the progress of your case at any time by logging in to your
account at http://www.corel.com, and under the "Support" section, choose "Support
Cases."

See the facts from Corel Support Case Page
Description:
I have currently Nvidia Quadro 600 card. But CVS doesn't use encoder hw acceleration - this otpion is not set able in preferences and realy encoder doesn't use hw acceleration but my old Nvidia 9500GT does. Quadro 600 is surely graphics card with hw accelaration (CUDA and Open CL). What I have to do to use this feature declared by Corel in CVS ?

Topic: Product Feedback
Sub-Topic: Feature Not Available
Product Family Video
Product Group:
Product Name: !QW Corel VideoStudio Pro/Ultimate X6
Application:
Serial Number: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Product Delivery: VideoStudio Ultimate
Build Number:
Operating System: Windows 7 - 64 bit
OS Language:
Processor Speed:

Comments
Performed By Date Details
Customer 2014-02-13
Hello? What's new in my case? Still without solution, relevant information?

Customer 2013-12-11
How do you handle my case please?
Customer 2013-07-09
Nothing changed after CVS X6 service pack 1. Could you say when it would be fixed please?
Customer 2013-05-06
Hello? What' new in my case? Still without solution, relevant information?

CONCLUSION:
1. Corel simply does not provide promised features.
2. Corel simply ignores clients.
kodl
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:08 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad
ram: 8GB
Video Card: Nvidia Quadro 600
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 8 TB

Re: Video Studio Pro X6 - supported graphics card

Postby Cypherdude on Fri Feb 21, 2014 4:44 am

kodl wrote:Hi all,

It’s very frustrating spend money for new graphics card with CUDA,Open CL,Stream and/or other technolgies and not use these features for video editing/rendering.

I would like to compensate missing support from Corel's side. It's surely Corel's task to list supported HW (graphics card).

Please write into this topic as my real example below:
Code: Select all
Operating System:             Windows 7 Pro 64bit + SP1
Graphics card:                NVidia GTX650-E 2GB
Graphics card driver:         NVidia 314.07 - WHQL   
Editing HW acceleration:      set able (or greyed - not stable)
Rendering HW acceleration:    greyed - not set able (or set able)   
HW acceleration optimization: set able (or greyed - not stable)
Note:                         other info or experience

Hello,
I have an nVidia GTX 460 SE video card. It has 288 CUDA cores and is CUDA capable. I know it works with CUDA because I can make a small utility called CUDA-Z use the CUDA cores. Both of our cards, your Quadro 600 and my GTX 460 SE are Fermi based. Both of our cards have a "CUDA Compute capability" of 2.1.

From Feb 6 to 16, 2014, I tried once again to get VS X6 Ultimate to use the CUDA cores on my GTX 460 SE. Nothing I did worked:
    Installed nVidia CUDA Toolkit
    Upgraded to nVidia Driver 332.21
    Previously copied CuDAC32.dll file to C:\Windows\SysWow64
    Uninstalled and reinstalled VS X6 Ultimate
    All 4 of the VS X6 hardware acceleration features have always been checked
Be aware, in order to use the latest v5.5 CUDA compiled programs, you must use nVidia drivers 319.xx or later. I installed v332.21 and they worked very well. The v320.57 drivers which come with the nVidia CUDA Toolkit did not work very well at all with my GTX 460 SE. While I could not get VS X6 Ultimate to use CUDA, the small utility called CUDA-Z did use the CUDA cores. If you wish to test your Quadro 600 with CUDA-Z, make sure you have at least v320.57 nVidia drivers. Otherwise, probably no CUDA program will work. I recommend you do not use v320.57 and use the latest v332.21 instead.

For anyone who reads this, after I uninstalled VideoStudio X6 Ultimate and reinstalled it, NONE of the Track Motion for blurring I set up in my project were there. They were all gone. I had to completely restore a Windows backup. If you have any projects which use Track Motion, I do not recommend you uninstall and reinstall VS X6.

After going through all the above, I cannot make VideoStudio X6 work with my Fermi-based GTX 460 SE video card. If anyone has been able to, please post here.

The only conclusion I can make is VideoStudio X6 only uses the CUDA cores for the later Kepler-based nVidia cards. I really don't mind this. I can buy 2 - GTX 760 nVidia cards. However, Corel really should have been upfront about this in the first place instead of wasting my valuable time.

kodl, try doing this:
    Install your Kepler GTX650 card and remove your Fermi Quadro 600 card.
    Install the latest v332.21 nVidia drivers.
    Place a copy of the CuDAC32.dll file into C:\Windows\SysWow64
    Test to make sure CUDA is working by using CUDA-Z
Let us know what results you get.
Cypherdude
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 8:55 pm
Location: Los Angeles
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus P7P55D-E PRO
processor: Intel Core i7 870
ram: 16GB
Video Card: eVGA GTX 460SE 1GB - PNY Quadro NVS 450 512MB x16
sound_card: mobo onboard - VIA VT1828S 8-Channel
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 3x NEC EA192M 19"; 2x Samsung 2494 24"

Re: Video Studio Pro X6 - supported graphics card

Postby Ken Berry on Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:21 am

While I agree totally that Corel should be more up front with this information, the whole point of this thread is to the effect that even the current version of VS will only work with version 2 (or possibly 3) of CUDA. This is also confirmed in other threads here. So your using CUDA 5.5 makes it clear why your GTX 460E does not use your CUDA in X6.

And just remember that none of us here work for Corel. We are all users like you who volunteer their time to help other users. And many -- including myself, though on another computer -- have NVidia graphics cards which should be able to use CUDA to make our lives easier in the editing world... but don't for the same reason!! :evil:
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 16048
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 17FB 10.58
processor: i7 2.2 GHz
ram: 4 GB
Video Card: Radeon HD 7690M XT 1 GB RAM
sound_card: On Board Intel
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 640 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: BENQ G2420 HD 1920x1080 24"

Re: Video Studio Pro X6 - supported graphics card

Postby kodl on Tue Feb 25, 2014 8:01 pm

Cypherdude wrote:
kodl, try doing this:
    Install your Kepler GTX650 card and remove your Fermi Quadro 600 card.
    Install the latest v332.21 nVidia drivers.
    Place a copy of the CuDAC32.dll file into C:\Windows\SysWow64
    Test to make sure CUDA is working by using CUDA-Z
Let us know what results you get.


Hi,

I don't do that. I would like to use quadro 600 card (it has perfect colours for photo editing).
Simple I want to Corel deliver on it's promise. Is it something too much for this company?
Every potential and current Corel's customer should know how this company treats own clients.

Sincerely

-kodl-
kodl
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:08 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad
ram: 8GB
Video Card: Nvidia Quadro 600
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 8 TB

Re: Video Studio Pro X6 - supported graphics card

Postby Cypherdude on Tue Feb 25, 2014 10:22 pm

kodl wrote:
Cypherdude wrote:
kodl, try doing this:
    Install your Kepler GTX650 card and remove your Fermi Quadro 600 card.
    Install the latest v332.21 nVidia drivers.
    Place a copy of the CuDAC32.dll file into C:\Windows\SysWow64
    Test to make sure CUDA is working by using CUDA-Z
Let us know what results you get.

Hi, I don't do that. I would like to use quadro 600 card (it has perfect colours for photo editing).
Simple I want to Corel deliver on it's promise. Is it something too much for this company?
Every potential and current Corel's customer should know how this company treats own clients.
Sincerely
-kodl-

From Feb 6 to 16, I tried for 10 days to make Corel use CUDA but I could not. Before that, I tried last year. See my Re: Issues with rendering and timeline playback post on this forum. It is very irritating but there's nothing we can do if VS X6 doesn't use CUDA.

The only conclusion I can make is we have to simplify our systems and modernize them. I assume Corel's VS X6 only works with a Kepler-based video card or perhaps VS X6 doesn't use CUDA on certain systems at all. Of course, I am not happy at all about this. I recently worked on a 73 minute video. At least VS X6 did not crash or give me a BSOD. OK, so VS X6 doesn't use CUDA even though Corel's VSPX6_Matrix_EN.pdf says it does. Over-hyping perhaps? Probably. :)

The only thing I can do is modernize my system to 2 Kepler-based video cards when I get the chance. I plan to buy 2 - eVGA GeForce GTX760 2GB 02G-P4-2761-KR video cards when they go on sale, if they ever go on sale. I think $209 would be a nice price.

This is my 73 minute YouTube video: How to Install Your New SSD into an Active Windows. I used VS X6 to assemble and enhance it. I used numerous transitions, opening and ending moving credits & music, blurring, subtitles, and multi-trim. Even though VS X6 Ultimate didn't use CUDA, it was still fun to use.
Cypherdude
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 8:55 pm
Location: Los Angeles
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus P7P55D-E PRO
processor: Intel Core i7 870
ram: 16GB
Video Card: eVGA GTX 460SE 1GB - PNY Quadro NVS 450 512MB x16
sound_card: mobo onboard - VIA VT1828S 8-Channel
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 3x NEC EA192M 19"; 2x Samsung 2494 24"

Video Studio Pro X6/X7 - supported graphics card

Postby kodl on Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:05 pm

Dear colleagues,

there is real test of hardware acceleration support for encoding process in Corel Studio X6 and X7 with two different cards of two main producers.
It is very sad result.

AMD 9750 + driver 13-12_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc_whql
HWaccel. MOV AVI
CVS 6 PRO (32bit only) off 2:16 2:24
CVS 6 PRO (32bit only) on 1:38 2:22
CVS 7 PRO 32bit off 2:32 2:26
CVS 7 PRO 32bit on 1:44 2:24
CVS 7 PRO 64bit off 2:26 1:40
CVS 7 PRO 64bit on 2:44 2:16

Quadro 600 driver 320.49-quadro-tesla-grid-desktop-win8-win7-winvista-64bit-international-whql.exe
HWaccel. MOV AVI MOV AVI
CVS 6 PRO (32bit only) off 2:17 2:22
CVS 6 PRO (32bit only) on 2:17 2:22
CVS 7 PRO 32bit off 3:39 2:24
CVS 7 PRO 32bit on 3:31 2:23
CVS 7 PRO 64bit off 2:28 2:24
CVS 7 PRO 64bit on 2:44 2:16

Notes:
------
source MOV = original Canon 550D mov file, 85 seconds
source AVI = same video as MOV, but Matrox codec HD
target = profile avc 20MBPS 1920x1080
source original MOV file http://kuk.cz/other/test.zip

System Windows 7 64 bit
PC configuration:
8 GB RAM
Intel Core 2 Quad / Q9650 / 3GHz
source video disk Seagate ST3000M001
target video disk Seagate ST4000M001
system disk Samsung SSD 840


Conclusion is very, very sad, i will write some notes next. Everyone can try this test for public knowledge. Please do so and paste the result here.
-kodl-
Last edited by kodl on Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
kodl
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:08 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad
ram: 8GB
Video Card: Nvidia Quadro 600
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 8 TB


Return to VideoStudio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher and 25 guests