VS Pro X4 Ultimate - Serious problem editing WAV files

Postby GLOBETROTTER on Thu Sep 29, 2011 10:25 pm

I have been using VideoStudio software for many years, so am familiar with the way earlier versions work.

I have been working on a new major video project using VideoStudio Pro X4 Ultimate edition the past few days, and have been relatively happy, even with the ProDad. But I have just uploaded some Wav files from a Zoom H4 and although they all load OK and Play OK on the timelines in CLIP mode, when I click on PROJECT and play the same sound files they just provide extremely loud 'white-noise', in other words I'm unable to edit the sound files at all! I thought that possibly the Wav 48.000KHz 24 Bit, Stereo files were at fault, but if I clicked back to CLIP and then pressed play, all the sound is perfect! So it is NOT the sound files but something within X4 Pro.
To double check my sound files, I opened up the exact same Wav files in the Corel Ulead Videostudio 11 Plus software, and ALL the sound files play correctly in both CLIP and PROJECT!
This is a VERY serious problem because I cannot edit many important sound files with VS PRo X4 Ultmate edition!

I've tried some 44KHz 16Bit stereo files and they seem to play OK in Project mode within Pro X4...

I hope that there is some simple explanation... :(
GLOBETROTTER

operating_system: Vista Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
processor: PC and Laptop
ram: 3GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1.5TBR
Monitor/Display Make & Model: ATi

Re: VS Pro X4 Ultimate - Serious problem editing WAV files

Postby Ron P. on Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:03 pm

I'm not sure why VS has a problem with 24bit WAV, but the easy solution would be to convert them to 16bit.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
Ron P.
Site Admin

operating_system: Windows 8
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645