Installation wizard does not complete for VideoStudio X4

Postby Finin on Sun Jul 03, 2011 2:24 am

Would anyone be able to help me understand how I can get VideoStudio X4 to install on a Windows 7 system? Since last Wednesday I have had recommendations from the good folks in the support center. They even sent me several new installation files (specifically VSX4_Pro_TBYB.exe; VSX4_Pro_PF.exe; VSProX4_SP1.exe; and vsx4.zip) and made recommendations that I should shut everything down (the MS installer (msci...), security, etc...). I followed their advice to the letter and I still cannot get the X4 installation wizard to work properly. I consistently get this message: "Installation Wizard not completed Your system has not been modified. To complete installation at another time, please run setup again. Click Finish to exit the wizard. -9". Please let me if anyone else has experienced this problem and knows how to install the product. Thanks.
Finin
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 2:57 pm
operating_system: Vista Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5N32-E
processor: 2.33 gigahertz Intel Core2 Duo
ram: 4GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS [Display adapter]
sound_card: Creative SB X-Fi
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 475 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: NTS MBW-SERIAL [Monitor]

Re: Installation wizard does not complete for VideoStudio X4

Postby Ron P. on Sun Jul 03, 2011 4:13 am

Welcome to the forums, :)

They didn't send you different install files of the program.
  • VSX4_Pro_TBYB.exe; this is a trial version, that requires an activation key. It would install the program.
  • VSX4_Pro_PF.exe; Not real sure what this is, first time I've seen it. What happens when you run it?
  • VSProX4_SP1.exe; This is the Service Pack/Patch, you must have the program installed before trying to run this.
  • vsx4.zip; There could be anything in here.... So did you extract the files? If so what were the files?

When you purchased VS X4 did you purchase the download (ESD), box, or did you have the trial version and purchase an activation key? I would guess right now, since they had you download the trial (TBYB), you must have purchased it and not the full/upgrade ESD version.

Have you also tried right-clicking on the install file or Setup file and selecting Run as Administrator? With Vista and Win7 even though you may have 1 user account on your system, and that being an administrator, it is not the same. The security is setup so there is administrative permissions that you must invoke each time, or set it in the Properties for the file to run as an administrator.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12017
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
Location: Kansas, USA
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell SE198WFP-Desktop

Re: Installation wizard does not complete for VideoStudio X4

Postby Finin on Sun Jul 03, 2011 5:19 pm

Great advice! I will check with support to see which version I downloaded with my purchase. Before purchasing, I am a new user, I saw the manufacturing part number was ESDVXORX4EN, so on June 25 I purchased the following: VIDEOSTUDIO PRO X4 EN. As you mentioned, perhaps I purchased an upgrade and not the full product. If this is not the case, I will respond to all your questions and hopefully my answers will give you more insight into a potential solution. Thanks again for your time and effort.
Finin
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 2:57 pm
operating_system: Vista Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5N32-E
processor: 2.33 gigahertz Intel Core2 Duo
ram: 4GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS [Display adapter]
sound_card: Creative SB X-Fi
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 475 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: NTS MBW-SERIAL [Monitor]

Re: Installation wizard does not complete for VideoStudio X4

Postby Natal on Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:29 pm

Ron P. wrote:[*]VSX4_Pro_PF.exe; Not real sure what this is, first time I've seen it. What happens when you run it?


That is the program they link to if you buy the software online. It is not the same as the TBYB one. Possibly his problem might have something to do with the TBYB one allready being on the system when it was installed, and something got corrupted or left behind along the way.
Canon Vixia HF S10; Canon Vixia HF G30; Canon Rebel T3i
Videostudio X6
Creative Cloud CC
Natal
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:08 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V deluxe
processor: i7 3770K 4.37 Ghz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Gigabyte GTX680 OC 2GB
sound_card: System board
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 18.74 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung SyncMaster S27A850D (2650x1440)

Re: Installation wizard does not complete for VideoStudio X4

Postby teknisyan on Tue Jul 05, 2011 1:09 am

Also the vsx4.zip: could be the image copy of the disc installer.

If you purchased the upgrade, you should have the download link on your corel.com account or the order email that was sent to you when you made the purchase. Your best bet is to download the installer from there, since the serial number that was given to you will not work using any of the installer that was sent to you.

Also if you purchased the upgrade, you will need to have any of the following:
VideoStudio® X2 or higher (Standard or Pro)
Corel® VideoStudio® Express
Corel® Digital Studio™

If not then can also cause some problem with the installation. Better call the Customer Support in your country, so that they can help you install the program.
Like reading blogs?
About Tech
About Sports
Pnoy.Me - A URL Shortener
Follow me on Facebook & Twitter
User avatar
teknisyan
 
Posts: 2424
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 4:18 pm
Location: Riyadh, KSA
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Sony Corporation VAIO
processor: Intel Corel i5
ram: 4 GB
Video Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650
sound_card: Realtek HD Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 GB

Re: Installation wizard does not complete for VideoStudio X4

Postby Finin on Mon Jul 25, 2011 8:41 pm

Ron P. Please let me thank you, Natal, Abiel. Bottom line about my installation problem is -- After several weeks of trying, I hoisted my white flag and moved on. I was thinking about how everyone was so kind and I just wanted to say thanks. Please let Natal and Abiel know I sincerely appreciated their help in addition to yours. Hope all is well with you and the community.
Finin
Finin
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 2:57 pm
operating_system: Vista Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5N32-E
processor: 2.33 gigahertz Intel Core2 Duo
ram: 4GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS [Display adapter]
sound_card: Creative SB X-Fi
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 475 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: NTS MBW-SERIAL [Monitor]

Re: Installation wizard does not complete for VideoStudio X4

Postby alexinou on Sat Sep 13, 2014 10:33 am

Hi, I have had the same problem with VideoStudio X7, and managed to get it to install :-D
I received lots of instructions from support as well, including disconnecting and disabling everything possible, but nothing would do. Same "Wizard not completed" error.

I saw in another thread that using a different user could do the trick.
So I created a new user on my computer, with admin rights, but not "THE" hidden administrator of Win 7.
I obviously made sure the install file would be accessible to the new user (e.g. not in a restricted "my documents" folder)
I launched the exe file and all went well :-)

I have now deleted this new user which I didn't need for any other purposes, and all is fine.
alexinou
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 10:19 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Ultimate
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 700Gb


Return to VideoStudio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AhrefsBot [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests