Failed to open the MPEG encoder

Postby pjsemmer on Mon Dec 13, 2010 4:23 pm

Hello,

I've been using VideoStudio Pro X2 for the past 2 years and it has been working just fine since, up until mid last week. I was rolling right along, creating MPEG-2's of the Classic 39 Honeymooners episodes, until I got up to Episode 24, when I started getting the 'Failed to open the MPEG encoder' error message. I searched through this forum to find any possible solution and the only solutions I found were to check to see if the MPEG-2 encoder CODEC is installed, which it appears to be according to the InstalledCodec utility and to uninstall/reinstall VS, which I did. I still receive the same error message, however. What could cause it to go from working one moment, to not working the next?

I tried to attach a text file listing all of the installed codecs on my system, so you can look to see if the needed codecs are installed, however I was unable to attach the file...says 'extension not allowed'. Please let me know how to upload the file if you need to see it.

Thanks in advance.

Paul Semmer
pjsemmer

operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Dell Inc. 0D501F
processor: Intel Core2Duo T9300 2.5 GHz
ram: 4GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT
sound_card: SigmaTel High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 320GB

Re: Failed to open the MPEG encoder

Postby Black Lab on Mon Dec 13, 2010 4:38 pm

What could cause it to go from working one moment, to not working the next?

Anything change on your system? Installed or uninstalled any software? Software updates, including automatic?
Black Lab

operating_system: Windows 8

Postby pjsemmer on Mon Dec 13, 2010 5:03 pm

Black Lab wrote:
Anything change on your system? Installed or uninstalled any software? Software updates, including automatic?

Hi Jeff,