NEW! Corel PaintShop Pro 2018

VSX10 Ultra Problems

Moderators: lata, Ken Berry

Re: VSX10 Ultra Problems

Postby MrJohnny » Wed Nov 08, 2017 9:34 am

Hi John

Not seeing anything obvious in the information supplied so far.

If you have any other accounts set up on your system; it would be interesting to know if using that account to edit a previously crashing vsp in VS causes the same crash?

John
MrJohnny
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:48 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. RAMPAGE V EXTREME
processor: 3.00 gigahertz Intel Core i7-5960X
ram: 32GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960
sound_card: onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 8TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: ASUS VH226
Corel programs: VS X5 Ult, VS X6 Ult, VS X9Ult,VS X10Ult

Re: VSX10 Ultra Problems

Postby john4647 » Thu Nov 09, 2017 12:52 pm

Well, as advised, I saved the file as an X9 version, opened up X9 and was scrolling through the project to see if it was all there.

Then this happened:

Image x9.jpg


Any ideas?

Regards, John
john4647
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 5:44 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel 7
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 720
sound_card: NVIDIA
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell 24"
Corel programs: VSP X10 ULT, PSP X9 (64bit)

Re: VSX10 Ultra Problems

Postby asik1 » Thu Nov 09, 2017 1:49 pm

Do you have Audio while scrubbing? disable it and try again
User avatar
asik1
 
Posts: 2072
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 6:07 am
Location: Israel
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: H170M-E D3
processor: i5-6600
ram: 8gb
Video Card: ENGT430
Corel programs: X9.2

Re: VSX10 Ultra Problems

Postby MrJohnny » Thu Nov 09, 2017 2:15 pm

Hi John

Was having some crashes myself, posted in another thread.

So, just to be pedantic, both X9 and X10 are crashing with different/same(?) symptoms.
I'm assuming from your previous posts that X10 has never been crash free, and X9 worked OK for some time?

My fall back is to rely on a previously saved image to restore my system to, probably not applicable here.

A choice of two routes then:

1 Restore your setup to a previous image (if availabe) when X9 worked and re-install X10. Probably best downloading again from Corel.
or
2 Uninstall both X9 & X10 and use the clean up tools (linked to at the top of this forum by lata) then re-install both programs.

Your crashes, in my opinion, are linked to corrupt files - cause unknown, but could be linked to driver updates.

John

(ps I have a super Blue Yeti external microphone attached by USB that can cause conflicts when creating a restore image, so when re-instating from an image I always disconnect the microphone first)
MrJohnny
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:48 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. RAMPAGE V EXTREME
processor: 3.00 gigahertz Intel Core i7-5960X
ram: 32GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960
sound_card: onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 8TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: ASUS VH226
Corel programs: VS X5 Ult, VS X6 Ult, VS X9Ult,VS X10Ult

Re: VSX10 Ultra Problems

Postby john4647 » Thu Nov 09, 2017 3:00 pm

asik1 wrote:Do you have Audio while scrubbing? disable it and try again


Disabled the Audio tracks (in VSX9) and all seems to be well but I will try it out for a few days in VSX9 and VSX10.

Now I am really confused.

Regards, John
john4647
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 5:44 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel 7
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 720
sound_card: NVIDIA
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell 24"
Corel programs: VSP X10 ULT, PSP X9 (64bit)

Re: VSX10 Ultra Problems

Postby john4647 » Thu Nov 09, 2017 3:06 pm

MrJohnny wrote:Hi John

Was having some crashes myself, posted in another thread.

So, just to be pedantic, both X9 and X10 are crashing with different/same(?) symptoms.
I'm assuming from your previous posts that X10 has never been crash free, and X9 worked OK for some time?
They crash at different times but with the same symptoms (the Windows box)

My fall back is to rely on a previously saved image to restore my system to, probably not applicable here.

A choice of two routes then:

1 Restore your setup to a previous image (if availabe) when X9 worked and re-install X10. Probably best downloading again from Corel.
or
2 Uninstall both X9 & X10 and use the clean up tools (linked to at the top of this forum by lata) then re-install both programs.

I think I might try this but I need to read through the post at the top as I am not sure what would happen to my projects and libraries.
I would also need to uninstall VSX8 as well

However I might wait to see what disabling the audio means (see previous post)

Your crashes, in my opinion, are linked to corrupt files - cause unknown, but could be linked to driver updates.

John

(ps I have a super Blue Yeti external microphone attached by USB that can cause conflicts when creating a restore image, so when re-instating from an image I always disconnect the microphone first)


Thanks again
john4647
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 5:44 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel 7
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 720
sound_card: NVIDIA
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell 24"
Corel programs: VSP X10 ULT, PSP X9 (64bit)

Re: VSX10 Ultra Problems

Postby lata » Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:18 pm

Hi John
Can I ask a few questions

First your project properties show as mpeg2 DVD 720 x 480, (i assume 16.9) are yiou intending in burning a dvd?

You have used mp4 video using I think 4.3 aspect ratio, using on a 16.9 project should not be a problem.
Do you have QuickTime codec installed on your pc, some Mov and mp4 video may benefit by installing QuickTime.

The X9 project again using 720 x 480 has its type video as mts, I assume from a HD camcorder. Could be using 1920 x 1080?

It is best to match our project properties to our video files properties, at least where we can. Clearly this is not the case here.

I have to say that none of the above should cause a crash, other than the QuickTime??

Jpeg images are best as Baseline, saving as Progressive could cause problems, right click any jpeg clip and choose properties.
Should indicate Baseline.

So why use 720 x 480 for project properties?
How much footage do you have as Mts and Mp4?
What are you trying to create?
Do you have QuickTime codec installed?
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9424
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D

Re: VSX10 Ultra Problems

Postby john4647 » Sun Nov 12, 2017 4:25 pm

lata wrote:Hi John
Can I ask a few questions

First your project properties show as mpeg2 DVD 720 x 480, (i assume 16.9) are yiou intending in burning a dvd?

You have used mp4 video using I think 4.3 aspect ratio, using on a 16.9 project should not be a problem.
Do you have QuickTime codec installed on your pc, some Mov and mp4 video may benefit by installing QuickTime.

The X9 project again using 720 x 480 has its type video as mts, I assume from a HD camcorder. Could be using 1920 x 1080?

It is best to match our project properties to our video files properties, at least where we can. Clearly this is not the case here.

I have to say that none of the above should cause a crash, other than the QuickTime??

Jpeg images are best as Baseline, saving as Progressive could cause problems, right click any jpeg clip and choose properties.
Should indicate Baseline. Properties are indicated as baseline when clicking on the library images

So why use 720 x 480 for project properties? Not Sure about this, when I create a new project, that's what it defaults to
How much footage do you have as Mts and Mp4? It's about 50/50 the MTS files are from my Panasonic Camcorder (they are 1920 x 1080) and the MP4 files are 'borrowed' from other sources
What are you trying to create? A DVD
Do you have QuickTime codec installed? I think so, if I search for Quick Time, a little menu box appears on the screen, though I have never knowingly used it
john4647
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 5:44 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel 7
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 720
sound_card: NVIDIA
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell 24"
Corel programs: VSP X10 ULT, PSP X9 (64bit)

Re: VSX10 Ultra Problems

Postby lata » Sun Nov 12, 2017 5:51 pm

Hi

If you have the Quicktime codec installed it will show in the Start Programs list, you should only install the codec and not the player.

As you are using MTS video I would set my project properties to match those, they will most likely be the best quality video you have.
OK
Start a new project
Insert one of the MTS to the top timeline, you should get a message to match the video files properties.
Select the details tab, then copy and paste the text from the right hand panel to your post.
Those will be your video files properties, used for your project.

If you have an existing project, set the project properties to match the mts video files properties.

For the time being work with your MTS video, remove the MP4 from the timelines and library.
See if you experience any crashes.

You mention using MP4 video from various sources, some MP4 from iphones / tablets may be using a variable frame rate, not good for editing, I would expect the MP4 to be causing the problems, and can cause crashes.

If you can right click the MP4 clips, properties, what are they? if any are using variable frame rate then you will be best to use a video converter to create a more editable format using a constant
rate.
You did provide mp4 properties in an earlier post, although a small frame size (640 x 480) was constant frame rate, Just noticed, a little concerned with using mono for the audio, I think video studio would prefer stereo. Again convert, Format Factory has been used by some forum members.

Assuming we cure the crashes, render the project to Same as Project settings will create a M2ts video file, after playing the file to test quality, convert that video to Mpeg2 video file which will be used to burn a DVD.
The settings you use will depend on the properties of the original MTS

Hope that makes sense?
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9424
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D

Re: VSX10 Ultra Problems

Postby john4647 » Sun Nov 12, 2017 10:34 pm

Looks awfully complicated but over the next few days I will give it a try.

Thank you all for your input, it is really appreciated.

Regards, John
john4647
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 5:44 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel 7
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 720
sound_card: NVIDIA
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell 24"
Corel programs: VSP X10 ULT, PSP X9 (64bit)

Re: VSX10 Ultra Problems

Postby john4647 » Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:00 pm

lata wrote:Hi

If you have the Quicktime codec installed it will show in the Start Programs list, you should only install the codec and not the player.


O/k, I uninstalled Quicktime and re-installed it (Version 7) without installing the player.
In my startup menu, there is an item called Quicktime Task, which is disabled at startup.

Is this the codec programme? Should I enable it at startup?

startup.txt
(3.89 KiB) Downloaded 7 times


Thanks again for all the help.
john4647
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 5:44 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel 7
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 720
sound_card: NVIDIA
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell 24"
Corel programs: VSP X10 ULT, PSP X9 (64bit)

Re: VSX10 Ultra Problems

Postby john4647 » Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:46 pm

lata wrote:Hi


If you can right click the MP4 clips, properties, what are they? if any are using variable frame rate then you will be best to use a video converter to create a more editable format using a constant
rate.


I am not sure what I am looking for.

I have 8 mp4 files.

In 'frame rate' section of properties, 4 of them are 29,970. 2 are 25,000, 1 is 24,000 and 1 is 30,000.

Regards, John
john4647
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 5:44 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel 7
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 720
sound_card: NVIDIA
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell 24"
Corel programs: VSP X10 ULT, PSP X9 (64bit)

Re: VSX10 Ultra Problems

Postby lata » Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:40 pm

Those frame rates look ok (Constant not Variable) however mixing frame rates is not gonna do much for quality.

The timeline has to use one rate, I assume that will be 25fps as I think you are in the UK

When you add the 30fps video to a 25 fps timeline the program has to drop 5 frames per second from the video.
It removes 1 frame in 5. A little bit of a stutter.
Even so should not cause crashes.

Quicktime
There was a security issue when installing QuickTime although installing the Codec only is ok
This is a video explaining the issues, about 4 minutes in shows how to install QT codec.
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=62304&p=346899&hilit=quicktime#p346899

Editing
You should try creating a project using your MTS video files to see if you have any crashes.
Then introduce your other video.
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9424
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D

Re: VSX10 Ultra Problems

Postby john4647 » Wed Nov 15, 2017 1:03 pm

I really thought that I (well everybody else really) had cured the problem.

I changed the Project properties to match the properties from my camcorder (AVCHD).

I also uninstalled Quicktime and reinstalled just the codec. (as per the video)

I also enabled Apple APS Daemon in the startup files. (It's the only Apple programme there.)

All seemed to be well after that but when I opened my project this morning and attempted to add some thumbnails to the library and the following occurred:

Image2.jpg


Regards, John
john4647
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 5:44 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel 7
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 720
sound_card: NVIDIA
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell 24"
Corel programs: VSP X10 ULT, PSP X9 (64bit)

Re: VSX10 Ultra Problems

Postby lata » Wed Nov 15, 2017 1:25 pm

Hi John

A bit annoying having these crashes.
If you edit the project using MTS do you have any problems?

Unfortunately the error message does not give any real info on the problem, not much use really.

As you were inserting a video file, did the crash occur after selecting a particular file.

If you can identify any particular files that are causing this you could use a video converter to create a more editable format.

If you are able to upload your MP4 files to a sharing site, One Drive , Google drive etc, provide a share link on your post and I will try your files to see if I can replicate the crashes.

Very difficult to find and I am sorry you are having these problems.

As for Apple APS Daemon,(google search shows) that is related to Wifi sync, maybe you have an Iphone or other apple device synced, should not be a problem for VS.
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9424
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D

PreviousNext

Return to VideoStudio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests